Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Was very easy and so yummy tonight at dinner. Everyone loved the sweetness and was alittle shocked there was squash in the bread. Will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have made this bread a couple of times and it is wonderful in appearance, flavour and texture. The braid makes for a great presentation and everyone raved about it at Christmas Dinner. I used a package of cubed squash from Costco and cooked it in the microwave which saves a lot of work in cutting and peeling. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe. I now have trouble keeping up with all the requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was easy, fun and delicious! It turned out perfectly, just like the picture. I will be making this again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was a lot of fun to make, but considering the squash flavor is so subtle, I'd just as soon make regular bread and use my squash for something else. On the other hand, I think the squash gave this bread a nice texture if not flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
A nice and easy bread recipe. The dough was a dream to work with. The bread went together easily. As did another reviewer, I rushed the rise times with no problem. I gave it approximately 40 minutes on its first rise and maybe 15 on it's second rise. I did make sure and keep it in a warm/draft free area. The inside was tender, airy and moist. The crust was also fairly soft but had a nice texture. I used "white whole wheat" flour as it is what I had on hand. I can't imagine it made much of a difference. In our family an entire butternut squash is too much. This allowed me to use some in the bread and the rest roasted as a side to our roasted chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Excellent bread! No, it's not "squashy" in taste, but great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by KarenCanCook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I modified it by using wheat flour instead of whole wheat flour. I also substituted maple syrup for the sugar. I also added some maple syrup to the final egg wash. I think this recipe would be great with raisins in the dough; I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robyn
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
There are few comments on this bread being bland and I would agree. HOWEVER, i'm pretty sure this will be easily fixed with a little more salt. I think it probably needs about 3/4t. Other than that, the texture is awesome!! It is very moist, soft bread. I absolutely think this recipe will be perfect with a little more salt. It's almost perfect as it is (that's why I still gave it 5 stars). I also divided my bread (w/ a scale) and made one braid and a 9in round pan of 7 rolls. We've already eaten the rolls (still baked at 20 min) and they were fantastic. We haven't had the braid yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this bread with one minor change: I used Hubbard squash, because that is what was we had from the garden. I kept all the other ingredients as per the recipe, but I made it in my stand mixer and let the dough hook do all the work. I made 2 braided loaves. One came undone at one end (not the recipe's fault, more like the cook's) But, it looked OK and everyone loved it, including me. It is great toasted or just eaten with butter and jam. Definitely a keeper. Did not last long enought to make sandwiches. It was gone in less than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States