Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This bread is very good, but there are a few things that the recipe should mention but doesn't. When you dissolve the yeast in the water you should add a tsp. or so of the brown sugar and let sit for 5-10 minutes, especially when using active dry yeast. I also cream the butter and sugar, add the egg then mix in the other ingredients. If you wanted you could also use half bread flour and half all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This bread is AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Not a lot of noticeable squash flavour but very moist and delicious! I made it with all whole wheat flour (this is how I make all my bread) and it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Note: this review is based on my changes, not the original recipe. I substituted canned pumpkin for the butternut squash because it's what I had and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and just under 1 cup of white. (It didn't seem to need anymore flour than that.) The result just ok, in my opinion. Light and soft, yes. But fairly bland. Maybe butternut is more flavorful than pumpkin? I'd add a bit more sugar and some spices next time (cinnamon and nutmeg, maybe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsTisa
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This bread was a hit. I actually have peole asking me to make it for them. It turned out picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This bread was delicious, very easy to make and turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Was dissapointed with this. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! We had leftover mashed sweet potatoes to use up so I made substituted sweet potato for the squash. Soft inside and beautiful color and presentation. Tasted great with the sweeter flavor of the "Slow-Cooked Habanero Chili"! I would like to try this recipe again but instead of braiding it, make rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Whole family loved this, and my five year old must have eaten half the loaf herself. It was also beautiful! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This bread was great when I baked it two days ago, and it is still great! I followed the recipe, but had to add a lot more flour to get the dough to a kneadable consistency. It was really beautiful and soft, but I felt like it needed some more salt, so I will probably triple that amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States