Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a very delicious dish. I have made it twice. The first time I made it, I followed the instructions and layered the squash, zuchinni, onion, and tomatoes. Then I read the "pats of butter between each layer" part. Too late to do that. So the second time I made this I kept that in mind. I also did not slice the zuchinni lenthwise the second time, and it was much easier to eat with them sliced as regular slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Johns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I cut way down on the cheese and used no butter, and this still turned out delicious. I'm not even really a fan of zucchini - I made it for my husband as he likes it - and now I finally like zucchini, too! I also recommend using a can of stewed tomatoes in addition to one fresh tomato. It's a very nice blend of veggie flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Absolutely fabulous!! My husband and I made this dish with the veggies we picked up from the farmer's market. We had to substitute a few items like sweet onion rather than Vidalia and Cheddar instead of Romano. We sprinkled some bread crumbs on top for a little crunch and it turned out wonderfully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy! I made a few changes for our family's taste. I used Mozzarella cheese instead of Ricotta, used half the amount of butter and sprinkled garlic powder on each layer. I save the leftover juice and use it as a soup base or steam my other veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
A few things, this recipe yields far more than 5 servings, as I ended up having to go to a second casserole dish. Also, do not cover it as the juices won't evaporate and therefore it will be really watery when you get ready to serve it. Also, this isn't really ideal for a vegetarian as it is really difficult to call a serving of this a meal, it's more of a side dish. With that being said, it was simple to make, and was tastey. I just needed to bake it again without it being covered so that I could get rid of some juices. It really did taste great. In the future if I make it I'll make it with rice on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
YUCK! I too used all fresh vegetables from my garden but found this disgusting. It was way too watery, even though I used 1/2 the butter recommended. It was bland and the cheese clumped together in big gooey masses. And not gooey in a good way like a gooey brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
The adults in my family loved this recipes. I was able to use our own home grown squash,zucchini,onion, and tomatoes. The mixtures of favor when you take a bite is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was delicious! I was concerned that there would not be much flavor because of the few ingredients, but it was just the right amount of flavoring. A great way to get rid of fresh summer vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
We loved this recipe. I substituted the romano cheese with Asiago and it was delicious. I also sprinkeld some bread crumbs on the top for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was pretty good, although it tasted a little bland to me. I made a few changes to the original recipe (eliminated the butter, used asiago cheese instead of romano, substituted white onion for the vidalia, and added canned tomatoes along with the fresh ones)...maybe it would have been better if I hadn't changed so many things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States