Squash and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I genuinely enjoyed the flavor of this dish. However, the top layer of squash just did not cook thru even after adding 10 minutes to the cooking time. In order to ensure that we didn't dry out the pork we ended up cooking the top squash in the microwave after removing it from the oven. Our slices were about 1/4inch thick following the suggestions of not over cooking and the layer UNDER the pork was done perfectly. I will plan to make this again, probably with more broth mixture to give moisture/steam for cooking the squash or maybe putting all the squash under the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We used an extra squash and it is so worth it to make your own sauce with this dish. The flavors are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Cut the squash 1/2 inch and used my turkey broth from Thanksgiving that had mustard and lemon in it. That mustard flavor gave it a special kick to it. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a good dish. I took the advice of others and cut my squash a bit thicker which worked out well. I trimmed this down to a dish for two and used a small acorn squash. We will do this again :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
not bad but not great either. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
this is the 2nd time i have made this dish using your recipe and i absalutly love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Reduced serving to two but used whole squash. Halved squash and cooked 2min. in microwave to make peeling the squash easier. Added ginger & thyme to flour mixture, to dust pork, before brownig. Layerd 2cups cooked wild rice, cooked in sodium free beef broth for flavor. Doubled butter/spice mixture to pour over top to add some extra flavor to the rice. Will make again with my minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! I used a huge butternut squash - it was rather difficult to cut so next time I think I will poke holes in it and microwave it a little to soften it up. I also cut the squash circles in half. I used boneless pork chops and it finished a little quicker. I doubled spices and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDI BAKES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Very tasty and easy. I had a delicata squash, worked fine. Did cut squash thicker and doubled spices as recommended. I also added sliced apples and craisins to the squash layer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States