Squash and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Mmm, mmm good. We could have used more than the one smallish squash I used, as our pork chops were pretty big. I blanched the squash to make it easier to peel and really could have made the slices at least 1/4" thick to keep them from overcooking. Used seasoned salt, doubled the other spices, added some marojam and poultry seasoning. Then used the chop drippings for half the butter and browned the onion before adding the flour, spices, and broth. This was a major hit. Next time I will double the squash and cut thicker, but it was still *so* good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I put the chops, squash and sauce into a casserole dish, covered at baked as directed. The pork was tender, the squash was mushy and the overall dish lacked flavor. If I make this again I will cut the squash much thicker and add more seasoning. This was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! I used a huge butternut squash - it was rather difficult to cut so next time I think I will poke holes in it and microwave it a little to soften it up. I also cut the squash circles in half. I used boneless pork chops and it finished a little quicker. I doubled spices and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDI BAKES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a good dish. I took the advice of others and cut my squash a bit thicker which worked out well. I trimmed this down to a dish for two and used a small acorn squash. We will do this again :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
not bad but not great either. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Reduced serving to two but used whole squash. Halved squash and cooked 2min. in microwave to make peeling the squash easier. Added ginger & thyme to flour mixture, to dust pork, before brownig. Layerd 2cups cooked wild rice, cooked in sodium free beef broth for flavor. Doubled butter/spice mixture to pour over top to add some extra flavor to the rice. Will make again with my minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Very tasty and easy. I had a delicata squash, worked fine. Did cut squash thicker and doubled spices as recommended. I also added sliced apples and craisins to the squash layer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I love to search by ingredient on Allrecipe. That's how I get to find recipes like this that haven't been given too much attention. Earlier reviewers tipped me to cutting the squash thicker, which I did and it was cooked through completely. I also added a beet, since I had it on hand and that made that half pink, but it was good. Solid comfort food. Could be spiced up a LOT for more interest, but if you're looking for something warm and filling and non-challenging, this will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
this is the 2nd time i have made this dish using your recipe and i absalutly love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I genuinely enjoyed the flavor of this dish. However, the top layer of squash just did not cook thru even after adding 10 minutes to the cooking time. In order to ensure that we didn't dry out the pork we ended up cooking the top squash in the microwave after removing it from the oven. Our slices were about 1/4inch thick following the suggestions of not over cooking and the layer UNDER the pork was done perfectly. I will plan to make this again, probably with more broth mixture to give moisture/steam for cooking the squash or maybe putting all the squash under the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States