Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
What an easy treat...the hardest part is being the squash. I actually goofed and mixed everything together but it still tasted delish! Also, sprinkled toasted almonds on top to add some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
very good. I added a tsp. cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made it for Canadian Thanksgiving and everyone was extremely impressed...most everyone present asked for the recipe and there were no leftovers. A truly wonderful alternative to candied yams and much more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Delicious! The apples add nice flavor; I used cinnamon, fresh nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
The mixture for this squash is wonderful but there is not enough of it. Also it is a bear to clean the dish you cook it in. I would make again without the apples and double the mix and coat the pan. Great flavor in the surgar mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Not quite a five star but more than a four. I used about a 1/4 t allspice, 1/4 t nutmeg, and 1/2 t cinnamon to replace mace. Next time, I think I'll cube the squash to get better mixing with the apples. I don't know why it said to sprinkle the spice mix. It was like a thick sauce that had to be spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also altered this recipe a bit by using nutmeg instead of mace. I also had some boneless chicken breast, which I partially cooked first, and laid on top of the squash/apple/spice mix. My son said DO NOT throw away this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I always, always get rave reviews when I make this dish for company. My family loves it too, including my picky kids! Instead of mace, I add 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and I never use anything but Granny Smith apples. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was AWESOME! My sister made it for a family dinner - we all LOVED it! It's even great reheated the next day! YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I am in love with this recipe!! It is a must have for anyone who even remotely likes squash. I followed the recommendations and substituted the mace with cinnamon and nutmeg, and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States