Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We loved it! I didn't have ground mace, so I used pumpkin pie spice; I used granny smith apples and it was fabulous. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
My children asked for seconds of squash, need I say more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
this is delicious, and i don't think i'll ever make candied yams again. butternut squash is such a pain to deal with, but i sure do love it. i know i'll make this again for sure. thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Loved it! Along with the squash I also added chunks of sweet potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
much too sweet for my family. My children thought they were having dessert for supper so that made them pretty happy! I like the combo of apples and squash, but I'll cut the sugar in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
It was too much work for what you got from the taste. The cutting and peeling of the squash along with the 55 minutes required cooking time made this dish impractical for me. It only tasted decently. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I am in love with this recipe!! It is a must have for anyone who even remotely likes squash. I followed the recommendations and substituted the mace with cinnamon and nutmeg, and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was AWESOME! My sister made it for a family dinner - we all LOVED it! It's even great reheated the next day! YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I always, always get rave reviews when I make this dish for company. My family loves it too, including my picky kids! Instead of mace, I add 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and I never use anything but Granny Smith apples. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also altered this recipe a bit by using nutmeg instead of mace. I also had some boneless chicken breast, which I partially cooked first, and laid on top of the squash/apple/spice mix. My son said DO NOT throw away this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States