Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a fall staple for me. Instead of mace, I use 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. When preparing the squash, boil it whole for about 5 minutes first. Dunk in cold water, and then you can peel it with a spoon! Well, a vegetable peeler on some parts, a spoon in the valleys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
update! sorry I changed this to include pork steak, wow was great. Chunked squash , placed in 9x13 foil lined glass pan, covered with peaces of pounded porksteak then apple slices covered with BRNsugarand flour/spices mixture dotted with butter covered with foil and baked 350 1hr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
i love suqash! this is a great altenative to sweet potatoes. i'm thinking of making this stuff, for a thanksgiving side dish! sweet potatoes are borring! they produce "belly gas"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was easy to make, and tasted great! One caution: I layered the squash and apples twice - the ones on top were a little less cooked. No complaints from the 'tweens on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was fantastic! Even my picky seven year old gobbled it up. We will have it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great Recipe thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Oh yeah! This is marvelous. A great substitution for sweet potatoes...or in addition to, because what is Thanksgiving without the sweet potatoes?! Delicious with roast pork, or even just pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was so delicious! I added some raisins and slivered almonds, but I didn't need to - it would have been just as great without the additions. I, too, used pumpkin pie spice. Don't forget to bake it covered. I forgot, and the burnt tips were not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this recipe for my grandchildren, who love vegetables, and they ate it up quickly. I used cinnamon, and nutmeg. I poured apple juice that I sweetened with Splenda, and thickened with cornstarch over the whole casserole and baked it for the recommended time. What a delicious recipe that tastes like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Savage, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Squash and apples..Great combination and great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Engel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States