Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I have prepared my squash similarly for years. Instead of slicing the squash, I simply wash it, cut an opening in the top, remove seeds, add apple slices and other ingredients and bake it that way. The apples soften and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for a dinner party and it was a great hit! I would cut back on the sugar next time. It is definitely a winner and I would serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So easy to make ! I used Butternut Squash, and basic red apples (whichever red apple that was on sale at the market). A trick to easily peel a butternut, is to boil it (whole) in radily boiling water for 4 minutes, remove from water, let cool, and then the skin peels of easly with a potatoes peeler. Trick: The blanching softens the peel, and makes for easy peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySoCal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious! It was plenty sweet as written. We pealed and cubed the squash and layered that and the apples in the casserole and then poured the sugar mixture over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and added pecans. I liked it, my sister-in-law wants the recipe and my sister who hates squash even said it was passable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My boyfriend didn't like this, so I ate it all. I didn't have mace , so I used cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. I mixed everthing together and cooked in microwave. I added some water as it cooked because it was really thick. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very easy to make. I doubled the glaze because I could tell it wasn't going to be enough as indicated. I also sliced the apples and squash into quarters. A nice, tasy dish which would make for a great side to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Brought this to our Thanksgiving potluck and it went quickly. Substituted mace with 1 tsp vanilla, cinnamon, and dash of nutmeg, and used granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
make a row of white potato and one of sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Super delicious! I sprayed my pan before putting in the squash and apples and clan up was a breeze. I only used 1/4 c. brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt. I had no mace so used 1/8 tsp nutmeg and 3/8 tsp all spice instead. I served it with 12 boneless skinless chicken tenders I had sauteed on the stove top with 1 clove of garlic. Made a fantastic meal. Everyone went back for seconds and my high schooler packed herself the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States