Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for a dinner party and it was a great hit! I would cut back on the sugar next time. It is definitely a winner and I would serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So easy to make ! I used Butternut Squash, and basic red apples (whichever red apple that was on sale at the market). A trick to easily peel a butternut, is to boil it (whole) in radily boiling water for 4 minutes, remove from water, let cool, and then the skin peels of easly with a potatoes peeler. Trick: The blanching softens the peel, and makes for easy peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySoCal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious! It was plenty sweet as written. We pealed and cubed the squash and layered that and the apples in the casserole and then poured the sugar mixture over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and added pecans. I liked it, my sister-in-law wants the recipe and my sister who hates squash even said it was passable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My boyfriend didn't like this, so I ate it all. I didn't have mace , so I used cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. I mixed everthing together and cooked in microwave. I added some water as it cooked because it was really thick. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very easy to make. I doubled the glaze because I could tell it wasn't going to be enough as indicated. I also sliced the apples and squash into quarters. A nice, tasy dish which would make for a great side to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Brought this to our Thanksgiving potluck and it went quickly. Substituted mace with 1 tsp vanilla, cinnamon, and dash of nutmeg, and used granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
make a row of white potato and one of sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Super delicious! I sprayed my pan before putting in the squash and apples and clan up was a breeze. I only used 1/4 c. brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt. I had no mace so used 1/8 tsp nutmeg and 3/8 tsp all spice instead. I served it with 12 boneless skinless chicken tenders I had sauteed on the stove top with 1 clove of garlic. Made a fantastic meal. Everyone went back for seconds and my high schooler packed herself the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a fall staple for me. Instead of mace, I use 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. When preparing the squash, boil it whole for about 5 minutes first. Dunk in cold water, and then you can peel it with a spoon! Well, a vegetable peeler on some parts, a spoon in the valleys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States