Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Love butternut squash (so nutritious!); hate the mess of prep -- so....when Costco has the packs of butternut squash already cubed and ready to go -- then I'm on the hunt for some great recipes. This one qualifies -- thank you! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was excellent. My 2 year old loved it too, and he is very picky. It will definitely be going into rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I had bought a thing of cubed butternut squash and was looking for a recipe to use it with. This was perfect. I cubed all the apples and the squash was pre-cubed so it took a little longer to cook (1 hour 10 minutes). Also didn't have mace so substituted 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. We all loved it, even my 3 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So very "fall" tasting. Didn't pack the brown sugar just to lighten up on the sweet and it was just right. Used 1/4t allspice in place of the mace we didn't have on hand. Very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I lightened this a little by using some Brummel and Brown spread instead of butter and did not pack the brown sugar. I used cinnamon and a little nutmeg instead of mace. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It was easy to make and very good to eat as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was great! Believe it or not, it was even better the next day COLD! (It tastes surprisingly close to pumpkin pie when cold.) I spent considerable time peeling the squash and apples, but other than that it was simple. Like others suggested, not having mace, I used a bit of nutmeg and added some cinnamon and vanilla as well. I'll be making this for Thanksgiving and I'm sure I'll get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimconnon
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've been making this recipe since the early 80's when I cut the recipe out of the local newspaper. It is one of my favorite ways to prepare squash. I think the mace gives it a special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I have been making this recipe for more years than I care to admit! It is in my Betty Crocker Cookbook I have had since 1976. I always make this for the holiday's dinners. Some of my family think sweet potato's must be covered in marshmellow (yuck!) I use less sugar, depending on the tartness of the apples. No mace, just cinnamon. I have also used curry powder, most yummy and nice mid year change from the cinnamon. Also, I don't melt the butter, I just put pieces of butter on top. Best of all this can be put together the day before, store in fridge and simply let come to room temp before placing in the oven. Even the kids will eat it with the apples. Enjoy-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I'm wondering if this would work in a crock pot? How about it from some who have tried it as written...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States