Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Nice autumn dish. Hint: Poke a couple of holes in squash and microwave for 3-5 minutes for easier peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very easy! I did not mix the ingreds together; sprinkled over layered squash and apples. I think some crunchiness on top would be good, perhaps, chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My toddlers loved it because it was so very sweet it resembled a dessert more than part of a meal. I won't be making this dish again, however, I like the idea of cooking with apples in a more savory dish. It has inspired me to experiment more, minus the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Enjoyed this as written. Will make again but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I liked it a lot, it's buttery AND sweet. My husband, not a fan of vegetables, actually has started looking for other recipes for this squash despite the difficulty he had peeling and cutting the squash! He wants me to buy another and said he will handle the peeling and chopping!! Thanks for sharing. I suspect we will feature this for many Thanksgivings to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We do an annual event with about 20 friends around Thanksgiving time which we call our 'Harvest Celebration'. This recipe was an absolute crowd pleaser. I used firm honey crisp apples, also eliminated the mace and used cinnamon instead and a dash of freshly grated nutmeg. I did follow the suggestion someone made to lightly butter the pan first but don't know that I really needed to. I am a firm believer - don't mess with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was very tasty! And apart from making the initial cuts in the squash -- where's my broadsword when I need it?! -- very fast and easy. I substituted a pear for one of the apples, because that's what I had, and that variety was pleasant. Also substituted nutmeg for the mace, as others have recommended ... but next time I think I'll make sure I have mace in the pantry. The nutmeg was fine but I think the mace might have been even better. In the future, I'll probably cut back on, or even eliminate the sugar -- there's so much sweetness in the squash and fruit -- or else possibly add in something tart, like cranberries, or savory, like chunks of Gruyere or bacon or salt ham, to create some additional complexity. I might also increase the amount of flour just a tad -- the mouth-feel of the liquid seemed just a little thin. But overall, this is an easy, delicious, and tremendously nutritious (it's got tons of vitamin A and C) autumn comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Love this. I am making it again this week. I substituted nutmeg for the mace, but otherwise no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
very good. I used a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice per another reviewer. I baked at 400 F for well over an hour (more like 1 1/2 hours). very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Love butternut squash (so nutritious!); hate the mess of prep -- so....when Costco has the packs of butternut squash already cubed and ready to go -- then I'm on the hunt for some great recipes. This one qualifies -- thank you! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States