Squasage (Sausage-stuffed Squash) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Very tasty! I chopped the celery into small pieces and didn't add it until after the stuffing was done cooking. That maximized nutrients due to minimal cooking and added a very nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this for supper tonight, we really liked it. I will be making this again. Edit: Yes it was altered slightly, I shredded some Cheddar cheese and added some to the sausage mixture. I forgot to add the sauce to the meat mixture so I poured it right over the top. It was fabulous, leftovers we reheated in the oven and served with sour cream... wickedly good! I am going to make this again tonight, going to mix the sauce in to the sausage mixture this time (like I was suppose to lol)to see if it make a big difference Lol I will post a picture of each try :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Used chicken sausage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. Made it as written and loved it. Very simple, easy to do with very good flavor. Definitely a keeper! Also, would probably be easy to change up if you like by using a different type of sausage, like Italian sausage, just for a bit of a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
It was okay. Wanted to try acorn squash and ran across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious! The only change - I used 1/2 cup of my homemade Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I use extra rich milk to make my yogurt so it's a good substitute. I love squash - thanks so much for this yummy recipe. Oh, and I added about 1/4 tsp. of salt to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
his is an excellent recipe. My wife who is very particular loved it and said it was the best she had ever eaten.I did prepare it exactly as written but I have a suggestion. to make it simpler to prepare. When the squash is cut turn it upside down on a glass plate in the microwave covered with a plastic hood on high for 12 minutes. you need a layer of water on the plate A shorter time might do for smaller squash.( Microwave 900 watts) This will ensure that the squash is perfectly tender and has no uncooked fibrous strands. I have just made this a second time but used a buttercup squash. this squash is a little larger and should be cut in half as with the acorn squash. Each half again is put upside down on a glass plate with I/2 inch of water in the microwave and cook for 6 minutes. ( do each 1/2 separately). then fill each half as in the recipe with the sausage mixture and bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes this cuts the cooking time from the original recipe. the flavor of this squash is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy LaRocco
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I used turkey breakfast sausage instead of pork and added plenty of herbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy LaRocco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was so easy to make, and the whole family loved it! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Like an omelette inside a piece of squash. Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States