Spumoni Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BBLACKIE
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
These cookies are absolutely gorgeous and well worth the time. They are a twinkling bright spot on my cookie trays! (I use paste food colors for vivid red and green.) This year I'm thinking about substituting cherry chips for the candied cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Okay, there was some work involved, but the end result was delicious and really dressed up the cookie tray. I used this recipe with the assembly instructions from another recipe on this site (Neapolitan Cookies submittee by Missy) and it took some time, but they were NOT difficult to assemble and definitely worth the time! I've copied Missy's assembly instructions below and applied them to the Spumoni recipe. It looks more complicated than it is...give it a try! Line a 9x5 inch loaf pan with waxed paper, (I used a glass pan so I could see if the layers were even) and spread chocolate dough evenly in the bottom of the pan. Spread the pistachio dough evenly over the chocolate layer, and top with cherry dough layer. Cover layered dough with waxed paper, and place in the refrigerator until firm, about 4 hours. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Turn out chilled dough by inverting pan; peel off waxed paper. With sharp knife, cut dough lengthwise in half. (I trimmed the outer edges so the cookier corners would be nicely squared) Slice each half of dough crosswise into 1/4 inch slices. Place slices on cookie sheet one inch apart. Bake 8 minutes minutes in the preheated oven, until puffed, but not browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I've been making these for a few years, they have become a tradition. It's absolutely essential that you use the best ingredients, including real butter or these will taste like . I opt for the "au natural" look and omit the food coloring, they look fine. I also use marshino cherries (drain the juice off) with no problems other than the dough being a little sticky. Chilling it will solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These were great! Even though they turned out to look more like "Spumoni Rectangles", they still tasted lovely and made the cookie tray look fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I make these every year for my Christmas cookie trays and they are a hit! I use some chocolate extract in addition to the melted chocolate for a more intense flavor. I also use a little pistachio extract (when I have it) in with the pistachio layer too. I use a measuring cup to ensure equal parts. After baking/cooling, I dip one end into melted chocolate and everyone goes crazy! This is a fun recipe with beautiful results. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This is a very pretty and tasty cookie; however, extremely challenging to assemble! These hold up well even after a few days and none of them went to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
A cute colorful cookie. Taste wise was ok. Not a cookie I would crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
These were nice colorful cookies. Texture wise is okay but taste wise is rather bland. However, I dressed up the squares by lining them up and then drizzle white and dark chocolate and they not only look even better but also taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These cookies were visually appealing on my christmas cookie tray, but I'm sorry to say they lacked any taste. they were a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Pretty and easy, but, unfortunately, tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States