Spumoni Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I just made these again, three years later than the first time I made this recipe. I did a few tweaks. You can view the step-by-step photos at www.bakedlava.com I added 2 packages of pudding mix, a full cup of chopped pistachios and a 10-ounce jar of cherries. It's funny, but the first time I made these, they did have an odd, greenish tint to them...with 2 boxes of pudding mix, that tint was just not there. This is just a great spin off a chocolate chip cookie recipe and it is going on my Christmas platters this year. I highly recommend this recipe, either as is, or with my tweaks...it is tasty either way you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I've never had a recipe my family asks me to make more than this! We live in different states and every time I come "home" to visit, I know they expect me to bring a fresh batch of cookies along with! Even my brother, who can be somewhat hard to please, raves about these delicious spumoni chocolate chip cookies!! A must-try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I was looking to see if there was a homemade recipe for these on here. I will DEFINITELY try it! I usually make the Betty Crocker version using the sugar cookie mix. You add pistachios and chocolate chunks and dried cherries to it. I however, improvised that recipe and add also a pkg of dry pistachio pudding mix and use cherry flavored Crasins. This recipe has such great reviews I cannot wait to give it a whirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim6980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a suprisingly good recipe. I omitted the 1/4 cup of flour (rather off the dough would have been too dry) but rather off kept the recipe intact as is. The cookies stayed nice and chewy a couple days after I had made them and overall everyone in my place loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Oh boy, are these DELICIOUS! I made them for Christmas and they were a huge hit. I've never thought of chocolate chip cookies as Christmassy, but these are, both in appearance and flavor. My RM has asked me to make some more, so it looks like these will definitely be a permanent fixture in our dessert rotation. I'm tempted to increase the pistachios to 1/3 cup and the maraschinos to 3/4 cup, not because it's necessary, but because I'd like to have more of them. The recipe is great just as-is-- no need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Cynthiana
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Yummy, bright and fun cookies! I cut back the amount of chocolate chips and pistachios but otherwise followed the recipe. They are somewhat floury so next time I would omit the last 1/4 cup flour or add a couple teaspoons of cooking oil. The maraschino cherries and pistachios were the stars, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These cookies were ok. After they were baked, the pistachio flavor was lost. I suggest less flour and 2 packages of pistachio pudding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksvona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
A wonderful twist on a classic! I used an entire 12 oz jar of cherries and chopped them well, also used a 12 oz pkg of chocolate chips. Nice, soft cookies with a very light green tint. I used a Pampered Chef medium cookie scoop and it yielded 40 cookies. If making for the holidays, you may want to add a couple drops of green food coloring to make them a stronger green color and extra Christmas-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were very good. Nice change to a classic cookie. The red of the cherries and green of the pistachios made them extra pretty for Christmas. Brought them to the family Holiday party where many people complimented them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a great cookie! I love "spumoni" icecream, pistachios, cherries, and chocolate are such a wonderful combination. So, I had to try these cookies when I saw them. My store did not have marachino cherries, so I used some pitted dark (sweet) cherries in heavy syrup, drained very well. And, they worked perfect in this recipe. Chocolate chips only come in a 12 oz bag so I used that. From the recipe I got 68 cookies using a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop. I will definitely make these again. They were soft, chewy, and very flavorful. They will be on my Christmas cookie list next year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States