Spudnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
I had to add more flour than recommended to make the dough workable. They are very good doughnuts. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are excellent! You do have to double the flour, but anyone who has worked with dough will figure that out in a heartbeat. I've added the yeast directly to the mixture as well as dissolving it in water first, and it turned out great both times. In my opinion it's worth trying again if it doesn't work out the first time, especially if you love homemade spudnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
my mom use to make these as i was growing up but with a shorter version. resipes you generaly always regulate the flour you put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
thier all great//// but any more potato pecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
Excellent!! Had to add quite a bit more flour, but they turned out as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Shouldn't be too critical when the recipe calls for fresh potatoes to be cooked and then mashed. Hard to specify how dry they should be. This is much like using sourdough, when the recipe author has no idea how thick my starter might be. One makes adjustments as needed. I found it necessary to add some flour even in a climate with less than 20% humidity average. If you're a novice, be prepared to add flour to make the dough workable. This is part of the joy of baking; if it was easy, everybody would be doing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
What is with this recipe?? I ended up with a nice product, but only after having to more than double the amount of flour and not adding the water. Had I followed the recipe to the letter, I would have ended up with dough soup! Very bad instructions, very badly written! If you are not an experienced cook, don't bother with this recipe. It would be great if it had been written properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I am not an avid cook or baker, but I love spudnuts and have been trying to find a good recipe for a while. I tried this recipe word for word, and it is written terribly. Not knowing I needed to put the yeast in the water first, I followed the recipe and it said to enter everything at once. Obviously my dough did not rise. As others have said also, my dough turned into a potato soup opposed to something I could ever "roll out". If you are planning on making these you need to be super experienced to be able to read between the lines and understand what you're really supposed to do instead of just being able to follow instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I agree with the other cooks. This recipe is poorly written. The equation of dry vs wet ingredients is not equal. I too had to double the amount of flour so that it was on longer potato mush!! It never would have risen! It was still sticky, as directed in the recipe. We'll see if they work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States