Spritz Orange Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening and added a dash of lemon oil + a bit more orange juice. This was a delicious recipe, but I broke my plastic cookie press along the way. That was disappointing, but the cause was probably the cheap press and not the dough. My coworkers loved it and the plate of cookies were gone quickly even with all the other Christmas goodies around the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARaleigh
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe was wonderful! The orange flavor is very light; not too powerful. I only baked them for 8 minutes instead of 10 and they were melt-in-your-mouth perfect! Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made recipe exactly as described, even used shortening, though I prefer butter. Would not go through my spritzer, very crumbly and dry. Had to roll into balls, flatten and bake. Orange flavor was pleasant but texture was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is actually a very good recipe, however I didn't have orange juice so I used lemon juice. I found the dough didn't have a very strong citrus flavor, so I added one more tablespoon of lemon juice (2 total) and then 2 tbsp of lemon extract. This made the flavor much better, but lemon flavored of course. Very much liked. If I had orange I would suspect you will need to add more juice and even extract if you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I got snowed in this weekend so i spent it baking christmas cookies.. i ran out of butter on saturday and only had shortening left, so i found this recipe and wow.. it is a keeper!! I made spritz cookies and the dough was sooooo delicious that i tried it for sugar cookie cutouts as well. They turned out great!! Thanks, Barb, this is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is an excellent recipe- the cookies have just the right hint of orange flavor and a satisfying crispness. As I had never used a cookie press before, the first attempts didn't work- I used baking paper and the dough didn't stick so the cookies wouldn't detach from the press. I rolled them into balls and flattened them and they were delicious. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These were excellent! I used a mix of cake flour and all purpose, sifted together as directed. They came out great. Mine were done after 8 minutes...I did burn a batch but they're still good burnt! My plastic gun worked okay, just make sure to grease the plates. If you don't have a cookie press or gun roll them into 1" balls like for peanut butter cookies and press them down with a sugared glass or your hand. I chilled half the dough and they came out puffier than the non chilled cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe! My entire family LOVES them! I've tried this recipe two other times with two different cookie presses made from plastic and neither of the presses worked at all--kept popping apart or breaking. Finally found a WONDERFUL metal SAWA Sweden cookie press at Goodwill for 99cents that works fantastic. Now we can enjoy spritz cookies year round and this recipe will be at the top of the pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very good spritz cookies. I didn't have enough shortening so I used 2/3 cup shortening and 1/3 cup butter. They were still wonderful- also used 2 tsp of orange juice and one of orange flavoring since I didn't have orange zest- the orange flavor was still amazing- Now I'm off to dip them in chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was great! Very easy, and a nice hint of orange in it. We colored half the batch green, and the other red, then used the tree, wreath, and poinsettia (5-point star) molds. We also sprinkled some multi-colored sugar on the trees before baking for a nice extra touch. Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States