Spritz Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a delicious recipe. My husband loved the flavor. However, I did not refrigerate the dough. I did lose one batch by leaving it on the cookie sheet too long and they crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Buttery and delicious! I've tried many spritz recipes and this one makes the lightest cookies. I've made it several times. I follow the recipe exactly except I only bake for 8 minutes since my press makes smaller cookies. The dough is stickier if you don't chill it, but it still works very well in the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Cookies taste great, but dough turns into a rock when chilled as the recipe calls for. Wasted 3 hours chilling and then another hour waiting for it to warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Hard, dry, unwieldy dough that makes a tasteless cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Don't refrigerate or you will just need to warm up the dough. I baked the first batch the 10 minutes suggested, but they turned out brown! The next batch I baked until they were firm, but then they crumbled when I took them off the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Okay, let me start by saying I am no professional baker, but am a fair cookie baker. I have made spritz cookies before following my manufacturers recipe, but wanted something different. Well, this recipe for me was a glorious fail. I followed the directions to a T. Used less flour as recommended because I was using all purpose, and it was still so dry, it was not even funny. I added a smidge of milk, refrigerated, and then couldn't believe how hard it was. I let it warm up, and tried to add a smidge more milk. Put it in my cookie press and it broke my first disk, it was so hard. Tried to soften it some more, and finally gave up and just dropped it onto the sheets. To add insult to injury, the flavor was not that great. Even taking the added milk into account, these were really blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was the first time I have ever made a spritz cookie and these were very easy and delicious...my oven temp. needed to be much lower & they still did not need to cook for 10 minutes. I also found it much easier to work with the sprizter at room temp. rather than chilling. Thank you so much for this recipe I will be making these for our neighborhood cookie exchange:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is so far is my most successful homemade cookies. I am on beginner level and... since baking it's not my specialty there is always been unsatisfactory level once the cookies ready. But, for this recipe... yumm yumm it simply works for me...!!! finally...!!! The tricks: (i)I have no cake flour so I follow the previous comment suggesting to use less flour and substitute it with corn flour...it works!! thanks for the trick, (ii) I have no almond extract so I substitute it with vanilla and yes, it still works. The vanilla make my cookies more in classic flavor which is exactly what I am looking for. (iii) I have no problem with cookie presser. My trick is, to put the dough in the fridge for about 15 minutes (enough to make it a bit firmer), press the cookies on the cookie sheet then put it back to the fridge for about 2 to 3 hours as said in the recipe. Voila, it make the cookie firmer and maintain it shape when you bake it. I only made half recipe and it's even made made 40 cookies....enough for a day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Delicious but I had a hard time getting them cleanly out of spritz press, and I have a good one of those. I used the leftover egg whites for coconut macaroons which also won raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These were good, although not the best flavor I've tasted in the past. They made good fillers for cookie boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States