Spritz Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe! I love to bake, but had never used a cookie press before. I had absolutely none of the problems some of the users mentioned. Real butter is a key, though! I found no need to mix the flour in by hand. I used my KitchenAid mixer and it came together just fine. My five-year old was amazed by the "magic" of the cookie press, and loved the taste. She said, "These are so good. I think we could SELL them!" The recipe came together fast, and the baking time is so short. We were able to make mountains of cookies in no time. One note: If you are sprinkling sugar or other decorations on the cookies, do that BEFORE you bake. Otherwise, the sugar will not stick in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these last night. This recipe tastes and works better than the one that came with my cookie press! I got 6 dozen cookies from the recipe. It also works well for stamped cookies, as they keep their crisp patterns. Remember that these cookies rely on real butter for much of their flavor. Substitutions will not only not taste nearly as good, but may affect the consistency of the dough. You CAN substitute different flavorings for the vanilla. Try almond, peppermint (perhaps with crushed candy on top and/or coloring the dough pink), rum, orange or lemon. The dryness of flours may vary, but this should be a stiff but kneadable dough that can be packed into the cookie press. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good. Only comment, I made the dough the day before and refrigerated it. After bringing to room temp on the counter for the dough was not as easy to work though the spritzer machine as the first batch I made that I used immediately. I would use immediately next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This cookie was wonderful. Light and flakey and melted in your mouth. This was the first time ever using a cookie press. The dough did good the first time filling the press but by the second time I needed to refrigerate the dough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
First time using a cookie press, and this recipe is great. The dough was easy to work with. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Very buttery, very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
These are the best spritz cookies I have ever had!!! They are quick and easy to make and they taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Very simple, but very good. Worked great in my cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I bought a cookie press in a thrift store a while ago, and researched on the internet for spritz cookie recipes. I read a lot in forums about how cookie presses suck in general and are complicated to use, how the dough sticks to the cookie press but not to the sheet, and so on. However, using this recipe for my first time with the cookie press, I have no idea what all those people did wrong, but I bet it was that they used the wrong recipe. This was fantastically fast and easy, and absolutely no hassle whatsoever. Using the cookie press was lots of fun with this recipe and I can’t wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Loved these cookies. The dough was very easy to work with. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States