Springfield Style Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
The sauce was not liked in our house but the chcken was devoured!! I think that I will try another type of sauce but everyone agrees that the chicken was the best; I think that the secret is leaving the chicken in the flour for 15 minutes it does make a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
We moved from MO (lebanon about 45 miles from sprfld)to North Carolina where to my dissappointment they don't even have cashew chicken here. But I have a recipe just like this but instead we omit the pepper in the sauce and put it in the batter and only use 3tsp. of soy sauce. and intead of white sugar use brown but other than that its pretty much what we have been using for years. oh yeah and peanut oil is the key for the chicken.but its a wonderful recipe everyone always comes over to eat on cashew chicken night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I've made this so many times and my hubby will eat it for days on end. Perfect for those who don't like all the veggies that come in Chinese food. Since the sauce is seperate you can add as much or little as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Brad, thanks so much for this recipe. My 3 sisters and I have been working on a good recipe for cashew chicken after eating it weekly for 15 years or so I miss it and have to travel home to get it at least once a year. And Mexican Villa too. haha We were using way too much oyster sauce yours is right on. You would think people would realize it is supposed to be salty hence the 8 b. cubes, soy sauce and oyster sauce. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
THE ONLY GOOD EXPERIENCE I HAD IN SPRINGFIELD WAS EATING THE CASHEW CHICKEN! THIS RECIPE WAS REALLY CLOSE, BUT A LITTLE TOO SALTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKSWNN
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Thank you Brad!!! I initially thought it was a bit too salty, so I have left all of the actual salt out of the recipt ... there is enough Soy & Oyster sauce sodium for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
The sauce has a Super taste! Not too bitter or too sweet. When I double breaded in the past, I never waited ~ This time I did like the recipe said to do and WOW the nuggets turned out wonderful. ~GREAT TIP!!! The breading stayed on and only a little bit remained in the fryer (The only changes I made to this recipe were:I added corn starch to the flour and I used peanut oil to fry in a deep fryer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
The chicken nuggets were good, but I found that the sauce was not to my liking, although my Mother liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is the best!I never thought I would see a recipe like this! I went to college in Springfield and always wanted to make this for my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
My family seems to like this recipe, even though I am the only Cashew lover in the house. I reduced the amount of sauce and cut down on the green onions the second time I made it and the kids seemed to like it better. Overall a decent meal when served with stir fried noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States