Springfield Style Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Brittany0424
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I have lived in Springfield pretty much all of my life, and this recipe is GREAT!!! I did make a few changes though, after seeing people thought it was too salty (I can't stand salty stuff!!). I used low sodium chicken bouillon cubes, I omitted the salt the recipe called for, and used 1 Lb. of chicken... and it turned out wonderful!!! My husband and I thought it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany0424

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It's next to impossible to find a restaraunt worthy cashew chicken. I couldn't tell you how many recipes we've went through to finally find this one. Omitting the salt I do have to agree with, the soy sauce has more than enough. And we like our sauce a little bit thicker so we used more cornstarch (always mix your cornstarch in cold water first it will be lumpy if you add it straight to the hot sauce). Making the chicken is more that half the battle so when i'm craving it on a work night I pull out the precooked, unbreaded diced chicken meat from the freezer, fry it in some soy sauce and whalla :) 15 minute meal for our busy busy weeks. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I move to MI from MO about a year ago & have been so frustrated anytime I go to a Chinese restaurant and order Cashew Chicken - it is never what I had growing up. This is exactly what I've been looking for. We've made it twice already & will never try to order Chinese out (at least up here) again. THANK YOU SO MUCH! note: I was told to add the cornstarch to the water while it's cold and stir it in really good, then boil to prevent clumping, works great! A+++++++++++++ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
"A bit labor intensive but totally worth it." - My sentiments exactly, but SO totally worth it!! I've been jonesing for a Springfield cashew chicken fix for over a year now and last night I just got down and dirty and made this recipe. I used 2 Knorr chicken bouillon cubes (they're larger than other kinds) to the 4 cups of water. It turned out *so* good...I'll probably eat some for breakfast this morning! LOL Seriously, you have to try this recipe - especially if you've never had Springfield-style cashew chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I love going to Springfield for cashew chicken because it is the only place I know of that you can get it like this. This was a very good version. A bit labor intensive but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Good Recipe, Ive lived in springfield all my life and find that the best you simply can't make at home. However, This runs a close second in my book. I think that Small Medalions of green onions are way better than roughyly chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used a version of this recipe and combined it with another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Very easy! Really great tasting. Taste so much like the take-out...but better. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea.galvez
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipes is great! My husband and I went to college in Springfield, so this tastes like home. I just use the sauce, as we like our chicken nuggets flurrier. I use the breading from Mr. Food's Honey Chicken. You can google that to find it. Very simple. For this sauce, we use chicken stock instead of chicken bouillons, but everything else the same. Don't forget the green onions, as it really makes the meal. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I made this according to the instructions. I live in Springfield and this is not how it is in Springfield at all. The sauce was nothing more than flavored brown water and had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States