Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
If I could give this a higher rating I would. I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years since I went to school in Springfield - it is a perfect replica of the local dish. My own personal opinion is that this recipe does need to sit for awhile after adding the sauce to let the flavors meld more, the next day is when I actually thought it tasted exactly like the local version. My only other suggestion is to add some cashews to the sauce when it is hot, it softens these cashews up and lets the flavor of the nuts out. Then I still added more cashews right before serving to add the crunch. I've also made it with low sodium chicken cubes since the salt level in this recipe is very high and it still had great flavor. My son is now addicted to this and keeps telling me he wants to go to college in Springfield so he can have this everyday. Thanks for the recipe and the memories of Springfield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I lived in Springfield for 5 years and travel there quite a bit. The sauce turned out with too much pepper flavor. Overall, pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe was AWESOME !! After attending college in Springfiled and eating Cashew Chicken on a weekly basis, I have found nothing that compares to this recipe !! Served over a bed of rice, this one definitely brings back good memories !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipie is right on the money. This is a family favorite, and is a wonderful dish to enjoy. A suggestion, though: instead of using a teaspoon of white pepper, use only a pinch. The power of the white pepper is almost too much for younger/more sensative tastebuds, or so I'm told. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe rules!!! I make it at least 3 times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is just like the cashew chicken at a little place in Pensacola florida.....I leave out the oyster and pepper when I make the broth and double the broth that you pour on top! This is really good. Chelita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
I love going home to Springfield, MO to get this wonderful (and inexpensive) Cashew Chicken. They just don't make it the same in other Chinese restaurants, but this recipe is the real thing. If only it was as easy to make as picking it up at the drive thru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I grew up near Springfield, so I was excited to find this recipie. When I made it, I was only partially happy with the sauce and not happy at all with the chicken. To improve the sauce, I would use half the amount of cornstarch to start, and then add more if neccessary. The sauce was just way too thick. My fried chicken nuggets turned out way too greasy and I was sick after eating a few. I would suggest buying pre-made chicken nuggets and then either bake them or deep fry them. I will try this recipie again and use baked nuggets. I'm sure it will be quite good then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I loved it! I served it over a plate of ice berg lettuce, and fried rice. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States