Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
The chicken itself was just as expected for the Springfield style. However, the sauce was not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I made this recipe by stir frying the chicken in a tablespoon of oil instead of frying it. Poured the sauce over and wa-la. An amazing meal, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Thank you, thank you, thank you! My husband and I attended college in Springfield. We graduated in 2006 and moved to Iowa. We have been looking for good Cashew Chicken ever since. This recipe is perfect and tastes just like the Cashew Chicken in Springfield that we loved so much. The only change we made to the recipe was to cut the corn startch down to two tbsp. Otherwise, Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very good, everyone ask me how to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
We love this recipe. I've made a few modifications for our tastes: I only use 1 1/2 cups of cashew halves, I use 4 whole green onions and I reduce the amount of corn starch to 2T (can add more if needed). Also, you need to use enough peanut oil so that it is about 1 inch deep in your pan. Other than that, the recipe is AWESOME! This recipe is requested quite often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Trying to cut carbs, I just sauteed the chicken. THE SAUCE WAS OUTSTANDING. I made this for a former Springfield resident, and she said the sauce was just like it. It was better than takeout. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I don't normally eat cashew chicken, so I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, but my husband assures me that it tastes just like what comes from a resturant. I've made it twice now and both times I've had no leftovers. I serve it with egg fried rice, the recipe is available on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summersville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
My family and I lived in Harrison, Arkansas for 10 years and always made it a point to get Cashew Chicken when we went to Springfield. I commented to my wife the other night that I sure would like some Cashew Chicken then got on-line and low and behold there was this recipe! I cooked it for my family last night and they ate it like they were going to the electric chair! Two thumbs up all around. The only thing I will change next time is to double the sauce recipe portions, other than that, it was just like good old Springfield Cashew Chicken! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I am sorry. I am from the Springfield area and no it doesn't taste like what I am use to. It had too much of a pepper taste to it and too much of a oyster taste. My husband liked it...but it is not what I am use too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is as close to the authentic David Leong recipe as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States