Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My fiance & I made this recipe for the family and we loved it, my teenagers said it needed to be added to our regular menu. LOL!. The first time we made it we had no white pepper and it missed that zing. So we had to make it again the next day because it was so good first time even with out the pepper. We used just a dash or so of regular pepper this time and it turned out perfect. This recipe takes us back to high school days at our favorite hangout. Awesome!! We did double the sauce it just didnt seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
OMG!!!!! I LOVE IT!!! Ive recently moved to a town that has about a dozen chinese Restaurants and not one of them makes cashew chicken this way. Which is the way i love mine, breaded of course, it reminds me of my favorite chinese place growing up. The first time we made it we had no white pepper so left it out entirely and it missed that zing. We added a dash of pepper or so bot the recommended amount and it came out great. This recipe is awesome!!!! My family loved it so much i had to make it two days in a row and it makes a lot. Just note when you change the servings for 2,4, 6 people etc., it does not adjust the second half of cornstarch amount needed so double check your measurements. we served over bed of fried rice and with the crab rangoon III recipe. ENJOY!!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
It's been many years since I've eaten Cashew Chicken like this and I don't remember the sauce having so much pepper. If I make this recipe again I will cut the pepper in half. We liked the chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Not too bad! Next time I will leave out the sugar in the sauce. I have lived in Springfield my whole life and have grown up eating plenty of Springfield style cashew chicken, and this recipe was a little too sweet. I also had to add a little more oyster sauce than called for. Overall a good recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Nice change of Chinese pace.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was a great recipe. I grew up in the Ozarks and found out quickly when I moved away that "cashew chicken" in other places was not the meal that I knew. The white pepper gave it a spicy zing. Next time I think I will reduce it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Being born and raised in Springfield I was excited to try this recipe. I followed the recipe to a "T" and personally found it to be too sweet and peppery.... I would defineatly cut the white sugar by half and maybe use only 1/4 tsp. white pepper. The chicken itself was FABULOUS. I will merely make some minor modifications to please my family's palette the next time I make this recipe....thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlyJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I thought this was just OK. I'm a Springfield, MO native, so my expectations are pretty high. My husband, however, liked it very much. In the future, I would cut way back on the white pepper. 1 t. was way too much. I may also cut back on the oyster sauce as I like a less fishy-tasting sauce. The chicken fried up beautifully and it made a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
absolutely wonderful!!!! we baked the chicken to make more healthy. This is a new family favorite!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
The chicken itself was just as expected for the Springfield style. However, the sauce was not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States