Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I grew up in Missouri and went to college in Springfield, MO. I have had Springfield Style Cashew Chicken A LOT! However, you can't find it anywhere outside of the region, and I live in Oregon now. I decided to just make it myself after craving it for many months. I was sooooo excited to find this recipe! I made it for my boyfriend, and his 5 year old daughter. It was so spicy that she couldn't eat it. I've never had spicy cashew chicken before. The white pepper took away from the flavor of the dish. So, I made another batch without the pepper, and it was Great!!! Also, the 4 chicken breasts that I used were big. I would suggest quadrupling the sauce recipe to have enough for all servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love this recipe. To lighten it up, I use chicken tenderloins that I lightly season on both sides with salt and pepper, then pan sautee in a non-stick pan coated with Pam. It tastes just as good as the breaded and fried version and is much, much healthier. It's even good when you omit the cashews (I never use 2 cups of cashews, just a tablespoon sprinkled on top of each serving to lighten it up even more). Also, I never have white pepper around so I just use black pepper with good results. The sauce is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was sooo good! I did make a few changes to get the fat content down. First I mixed 2 cups of flour with 1/4 cup of cornstarch and sauteed the chicken in about 1/3 cup of oil until brown. I removed the chicken and let it drain, then poured any leftover oil out of the pan. I added the onion, and the sauce mix to the pan, cooked it til thick, and added the chicken back. It wasn't as crunchy, but it was great. Next time I'm just going to use sauteed chicken without any breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very close to the real deal! Used to live off this dish from Hong Kong Inn while attending school in Springfield. This recipe brings back many memories. Will start making this recipe regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This recipe is EXACTLY like the cashew chicken I grew up on in Springfield, MO and have been missing since moving to Florida! It was so nice to be able to introduce my husband and daughter to this delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great recipe! Chicken was great & the sauce was VERY close to Springfield... only a little bit salty. Try this one tonight! I'd suggest having 2 people make this (one for the chicken & one for the sauce) so it's done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I had breaded chicken tenders on hand so I did not do the chicken but the sauce seemed a little off to me. Much too much white pepper and otherwise seemed to bland for my crew. We live close to Springfield and have eaten our fair share of cashew chicken and this was not close to anything we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Loved it! So glad I found this recipe. I grew up in MO (Texas Co.) and have never found cashew chicken the same anywhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe is great... I've made it many times. In an effort to make it a little more healthy I have now been cooking the chicken in a skillet with light olive oil and no breading. Once the sauce is done i pour it over the chicken and add the cashews. It is very good, the family loves it. Also for those of you who have never used white pepper, it is extremely strong even for my family who like spicy foods. So, I would recommend to use a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
too much work for an ok flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States