Springerle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for YEARS. My mother passed away 34 years ago, she made these at christmas time every year starting them in October.....she would store them in a large crock. I have springerle boards instead of a rolling pin, they work the same way. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE....IT'S THE REAL ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This recipe is the same as my great-rand motherj's except that she added the butter with the sugar. I decided to try it this way....DON"T!!! ...the fluffy eggs collasped!! Add the 2 Tbs. butter (melted and cooled) last of all FOLDING them in. I also roll out the cookies right away. I was going to try refrigerating them like her recipe says, but decided to do it Great grand-ma's way and roll them out lightly without the cooling. Two of my sons ask for springerle every Christmas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is close to my German great grandmothers recipe. I modified it to taste almost exactly like it. I added a little grated lemon peel. You can also use the antique springerle boards as well as the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4teengirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
excellent! I had lost my recipe and glad to report this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
my dad loves these cookies from his childhood so I made the receipe and he couldnt stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
There are a lot of high reviews for this recipe so I have to wonder if my cookies might have been the result of user error. Everything that could have possibly went wrong did. My dough broke apart right away. I actually ended up fixing this by adding water. Even though I let these cookies sit out over night, the pretty impressions from my mold were gone by the time I baked them. The house never smelled like anise, like the ones my mother would make. Maybe, I should try to get her recipe. Anyway, these cookies taste ok, and I would like to thank the submitter of this recipe, but they weren't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was terrified of making springerle until I used this recipe. Three successful batches and counting! Both my dad and my aunt have said these are just like their grandma used to make. I place the cookies on a cookie sheet with parchment paper sprinkled with anise seeds...saves tea towels. These have not hardened on me yet. Success! Am passing this recipe on to my daughter-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
this looks very close to what my mom would make. I have the old board with beautiful designs. After letting the dough sit overnight she would brush the bottom of the cookie with water (or milk?) so it would rise from the bottom and preserve the design. Did not work as well in the warm Florida climate compared to Ohio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
To bocaboda: my mother also called them the same thing but she was Swiss and spelled it 'chrabboli'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My mother made a cookie we have called Krabili. I was surprised to find the same type cookie in a Betty Crocker cookie book "springerle." Mom received this recipe from a Swedish neighbor 55 years ago. Anyone ever heard of Krabili? Our recipe has eggs, sugar, flour, touch of salt and anise seed. I roll it out thin and use a krinkle edge roll cutter and then let dry overnight and cook in slow oven the next day. Basically the same ingredients and process. I am baking them now as I write. I would like to try them, maybe next year with the lemon. Because I have taken over the tradition I have family members putting in their orders. Bocaboda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States