Springerle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a slightly different version than I have used for many years, a recipe handed down from the family of southern Indiana. Will let you know what I think after they are baked. My grandmother's German family had a strong tradition of making these at Christmas time, and I do so in honor of my father who love them as I do. Here they are, drying. It takes a few years to perfect, so don't distress ladies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pattee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this recipe, my mother also made these at Christmas, the only thing I change is I add 1 t. of anise oil to the dough. PS add the flour slowly because I only used 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Lemon zest - my family's recipe included 'the zest of one lemon' in a batch, though I remember using orange in a pinch, but it wasn't quite the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! Thanks for sharing. I did put some ground anise into the dough. About 2 tsp. I also don't have a rolling pin or stamps. I used a mold and pressed in the dough. It pealed right out with only a little coaxing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I am acutally rather disappointed: for some reason, my cookies raised in a "pillow" form, some of them cracked on top, and the designs nearly disappeared. I did leave them out overnight to dry, and they were quite firm (nearly hard) when I put them on the cookie sheet to bake them. My oven typically runs a lower temperature than the control setting indicates, so I don't think I was baking them too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the recipe that I use. Only I also add 1/2 t of Anise Oil. Though anise is traditionally Christmas, they can also be made by omitting the anise seed and substituting other flavorings like Vanilla, Orange, etc. I have also made it with 4 cup powdered sugar instead of the 2 c. granulated. Both work, but I prefer the powdered sugar. I saw a suggestion on youtube recommending that you cook one to make sure your oven is right on and adjust. This year I had thick pads on the bottom. Just as I was finishing the last batch I connected with the fact that my oven was too cool. (Time to have the control board replaced.) I also used American acrylic cookied presses, so instead of the traditional 3/8-58 thickness I rolled them to a little under 1/4 inch. It is a good recipe. The grandkids and kids love them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe!! Thank you. Made for the first time for a German friend and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
To bocaboda: my mother also called them the same thing but she was Swiss and spelled it 'chrabboli'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I buy really beautiful molds online. We love them ! Great recipe by the way !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
There are a lot of high reviews for this recipe so I have to wonder if my cookies might have been the result of user error. Everything that could have possibly went wrong did. My dough broke apart right away. I actually ended up fixing this by adding water. Even though I let these cookies sit out over night, the pretty impressions from my mold were gone by the time I baked them. The house never smelled like anise, like the ones my mother would make. Maybe, I should try to get her recipe. Anyway, these cookies taste ok, and I would like to thank the submitter of this recipe, but they weren't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States