Springerle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a slightly different version than I have used for many years, a recipe handed down from the family of southern Indiana. Will let you know what I think after they are baked. My grandmother's German family had a strong tradition of making these at Christmas time, and I do so in honor of my father who love them as I do. Here they are, drying. It takes a few years to perfect, so don't distress ladies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pattee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this recipe, my mother also made these at Christmas, the only thing I change is I add 1 t. of anise oil to the dough. PS add the flour slowly because I only used 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Lemon zest - my family's recipe included 'the zest of one lemon' in a batch, though I remember using orange in a pinch, but it wasn't quite the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! Thanks for sharing. I did put some ground anise into the dough. About 2 tsp. I also don't have a rolling pin or stamps. I used a mold and pressed in the dough. It pealed right out with only a little coaxing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I am acutally rather disappointed: for some reason, my cookies raised in a "pillow" form, some of them cracked on top, and the designs nearly disappeared. I did leave them out overnight to dry, and they were quite firm (nearly hard) when I put them on the cookie sheet to bake them. My oven typically runs a lower temperature than the control setting indicates, so I don't think I was baking them too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the recipe that I use. Only I also add 1/2 t of Anise Oil. Though anise is traditionally Christmas, they can also be made by omitting the anise seed and substituting other flavorings like Vanilla, Orange, etc. I have also made it with 4 cup powdered sugar instead of the 2 c. granulated. Both work, but I prefer the powdered sugar. I saw a suggestion on youtube recommending that you cook one to make sure your oven is right on and adjust. This year I had thick pads on the bottom. Just as I was finishing the last batch I connected with the fact that my oven was too cool. (Time to have the control board replaced.) I also used American acrylic cookied presses, so instead of the traditional 3/8-58 thickness I rolled them to a little under 1/4 inch. It is a good recipe. The grandkids and kids love them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe!! Thank you. Made for the first time for a German friend and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
To bocaboda: my mother also called them the same thing but she was Swiss and spelled it 'chrabboli'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I buy really beautiful molds online. We love them ! Great recipe by the way !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
There are a lot of high reviews for this recipe so I have to wonder if my cookies might have been the result of user error. Everything that could have possibly went wrong did. My dough broke apart right away. I actually ended up fixing this by adding water. Even though I let these cookies sit out over night, the pretty impressions from my mold were gone by the time I baked them. The house never smelled like anise, like the ones my mother would make. Maybe, I should try to get her recipe. Anyway, these cookies taste ok, and I would like to thank the submitter of this recipe, but they weren't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States