Spring Vegetable Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have to admit I was a little intimidated to make these, but it worked perfectly and my family enjoyed them for Easter. It's much easier to assemble than you think, and I have to admit that this is one of the only times I've enjoyed asparagus!! They are so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Being that my husband and I are not drinkers, even though the wine was cooked down, it gave the veggies especially the Asparagus a more bitter flavor. This was not enjoyed in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Amazing and beautiful on the plate. They are a lot of work and a little difficult to assemble but tasted great. My dinner guest was very impressed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were very frustrating to assemble, although it was nice that this could be done earlier in the day. The longer the onion piece you can use, the better. Although they looked beautiful on the plate - they did not taste very good at all. Maybe I did something wrong...but, I didn't find them worth the effort and won't try making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great concept.....but VERY time comsuming! I had a difficult time keeping the "ties" from breaking during assembly or they weren't long enough. I ended up only making a few and tossing all the rest of the veggies together in the onion/broth mixture. They tasted good, and looked cool, just not sure it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Everyone loved these at Easter. Some fell apart, so next time I will tie them up, then insert a slender vegetable (carrot or string bean) to make the bundle snug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I served these for Easter and they were a huge hit! After reading the other reviews, I thought these would be more difficult to put together, but honestly they were not that bad. The fact that you can tie them together earlier in the day is great. I used the longest green onions I could find, which made it much easier to tie together. They are so pretty, I highly recommend these for a special dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
EASTER HIT! This one gets 5 stars on technique alone! The boiled & cooled green onion tops were the perfect ties. Steaming in a skillet was very easy & kept my oven free for the rest of the meal. The presentation is beautiful, looks as pretty as the picture very easily. I made 14 bundles and it was fun, not tedious. I made them ahead of time & they cooked quickly. I used 7 frozen green beans and 4 strips of fresh carrots for each bundle. I cooked the bundles in a bit of some bacon grease then added water to steam. At the end I added butter, 2 T brown sugar & a spash of soy sauce then spooned over the bundles. Also sprinkled crisp crumbled bacon on top. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I loved these little vegetable bundles. I made them for easter last year. They were so pretty and full of great flavor. I used chicken stock instead of white wine. I also added some spices and flavors such as parsley and lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a beautiful presentation of vegetables. The green onions were a bit hard to work with. Make sure you get the longest stems you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States