Spring Sweet Pea Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I've made this salad twice. The first time I forgot to add the lemon zest/juice and it turned out fabulous! The second time, I remembered to put in the lemon and didn't think it came out as good. It was a little too tangy and the lemon slightly over powered the rest of the flavors. I also used less cheddar in both dishes. I would give it five stars, but have to give the original recipe four since I like it better without lemon. Regardless, this salad is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was even better than I hoped for. I had a store bought version and it left me wanting for more. I thought I'd see if allrecipes had anything like it. This is so much better. I love the addition of lemon. It makes it so bright and springy. I was a little concerned about it being too much liquid because the dressing was very runny, however it really firms up in the refrigerator. The only changes I made were using elbow macaroni, green onions instead of red, omitting the ham and using 1 tsp. of dill instead of 1 tablespoon. It was delicious and the lemon juice and zest really made the dish for me. Also, if you're making it to serve immediately and don't have thawed peas, just soak them in hot water for a few minutes and drain. They thaw right out, but don't get cooked. Thanks so much for the delicious new recipe. This will be perfect for summer potlucks and bbqs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I had to make substitutions due to ingredients on hand. I used mini sea shells in place of the bow tie pasta. Subbed chopped pepperoni for the diced ham. I had to use plain low fat yogurt because I was out of sour cream. I did as the original poster stated and cubed the cheddar cheese. Even with the substitutions, the lemon flavor really adds a nice light taste to this salad. It's a nice change from all those sweet pasta salads. I think it will taste even better after being refrigerated for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Oooh, Kimberly, you outdid yourself! This was so good, even my kids who don't like peas ate it. This should get an extra star just for that! I used about half the lemon juice called for because my lemons seems especially strong this year. I also used crumbled bacon instead of ham and green onions instead of red, but ONLY because I didn't want to go the store. Next time I'll use the ham and red onion. I'm sure it will be as good or even better. Thanks! UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and its good as written, and with the above changes. I always use a little less lemon, though. I've been asked for this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Not particularly unique; but still a nice, pleasant pasta salad freshened with lemon (I cut back significantly and just used juice) and kept moist with the addition of a little olive oil. In keeping with Hubs' preferences, I skipped the cayenne and added the crunch of celery he so loves in pasta salads. Since he will eating this at the office for lunch, I swapped out the red onion for fresh chives for obvious reasons. For a little extra flavor I added some Penzey's Buttermilk Dressing Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I feel the need to not only review this recipe (which I thought was very good), but also to say it's not fair to give a recipe a low rating, simply based on nutritional content.The secret to a healthy lifestyle is not denying yourself what you really want -- if you want a calorie laden meal - then go for it. I love a piece of cheesecake now and then! In other words, we're big kids, we can make our own choices, thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I do all you can eat barbecues at my house, and I've made this recipe three times now; it's a keeper. Everyone loves it, even people who don't usually like pasta salad. I use rotini pasta instead of bowtie, and I put red and yellow peppers without the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Good flavor -- love the dill..... but Too much lemon as written....I mixed the other "sauce" ingredients, and added the lemon a little at a time, to taste. Also, not enough sauce in general. Double the sauce for the same amount of coarse ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Loved the mix of dill and lemon. I did add a bit more sour cream and mayo - just like a creamier consistency - will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieJoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Union, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Wonderful, easy, fresh salad! The only change I made was I used crumbled cooked bacon instead of the ham cause that's what I had on hand. Kids loved it, an everyone had seconds. I think I'll add chopped/shredded cooked chicken next time to make it a complete meal! Thanks for this delicious salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States