Spring Strawberry Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Another winning recipe! Thanks to previous reviewers, I cut the oil by half (next time maybe even a little bit more), added 1/4 cup chopped red onions and 1/4 cup sliced almonds. Sweet but not too sweet and is very appropriate for this summertime weather! Presentation is beautiful and tastes even better. We all enjoyed, including my daughter, who is 5yrs old. Thanks Mona for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This salad is wonderful. Everyone (even spinach salad haters) go GAGA over it. The sweet, tangy dressing is heavenly when combined with the strawberries and spinach. This salad is always a crowd favorite, and it's always requested at potlucks and dinners. I always add a few strawberries to the dressing and let it sit in the fridge to cool for an hour or so before serving. The dressing ends up a beautiful pink color and the strawberries really dress it up! It's a nice way to bring back summer if you can find strawberries out of season in your grocery store, and goes well with just about any meal you could possibly think of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I helped cook for a wedding this past summer, and the couple wanted a spinach salad with poppy seed dressing. This was a HUGE hit, and I had people calling me the next week for the recipe (even established cooks!). I was asked to make this salad for another wedding a couple months later. This is absolutely wonderful, I like the strawberries, but it is equally great with canned drained mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Used mixed field greens with Blue cheese, red onions and toasted sliced almonds in a pan, then added sugar and let them cool for on top. Used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 reg. oil.Balsamic vinegar also. Had to make it 2 nights in a row. My family agreed it is the best salad EVER!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great taste but definitely reduce oil by 1/2 and use olive oil instead of vegetable. Also know that this is not a salad that keeps if you mix it with the dressing as the next day the strawberries taste terrible since they've marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was nice and simple. We really enjoyed this salad. The dressing is very nice and light. It isn't overpowering. I added 2 strawberries to the blender when I mixed the dressing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Very good. I used less oil and will use less vinegar the next time but very good. Topped my salad with the Kraft crumbles of feta, provolone, and parmesan cheeses. Also added Dawn's Candied walnuts from this site. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I always take this to get togethers and barbecues, and EVERYONE asks for the recipe! I usually only use half the oil and sugar, and I add two strawberries to the blender as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
What a hit, it was the best salad going at a recent baby shower! I didn't even get to eat any! Made it as the recipe stated. YUM! I got to lick the bowl! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This has been the "HIT" of the potluck several times now. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States