Spring Strawberry Salad with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Delicious. I love how strawberries and balsamic taste with goat cheese. I made some changes to this. I used used 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar instead of the balsamic vinaigrette. I also used a spring salad mix instead of spinach. I also found a box of sesame candied pecans at an asian grocery store that really made a good finish to this salad. I think for an added taste, sliced pears or apples would go well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe, even though I had to make last minute changes. I live in a rural area, and don't have acess to some ingredients -ie: goat cheese, and candied pecans :( BUT.. I added a little red onion, a little red pepper, and toasted the plain baking pecans i had in the pantry. The strawberries, red onion, and balsamic vinagrette was YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was simple and excellent. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of vinagrette. I added dried cranberries and fresh dandelion leaves, and overall had a great sweet/bitter contrast. A good light meal for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I’ve made this recipe a few times and although I didn't follow this recipe to the "T" I did really enjoy the mix of flavors and texture. Instead of using the balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing I used Brianna’s Home Style Blush Wine Vinaigrette Dressing (it’s what I had at the time). It was more of a thin dressing that added a mild flavor. I also used a spring mix instead of just plain spinach and blue cheese as opposed to the suggested goat cheese. I couldn’t find any candied pecans so I just lightly toasted them with a sprinkle of brown sugar and it was amazing. One thing that I do suggest is to let the chicken chill so that the greens don’t get soggy. I also added some craisins to the salad for a little more taste and texture. Overall, this salad was surprisingly delicious and I would make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great salad. I just made it for a baby shower and everyone was raving about it. It was easy to make and did not require a lot of last minute preparation. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
O.M.G. amazing. I skipped the candied pecans in favor of plain old walnut pieces, and it was STILL awesome. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My husbanmd loves this salad! I make my own balsamic dressing by putting balsamic, a little dijon mustard and a little honey in a sauce pan and reducing it till it's dressing thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
It’s been pretty hot here, so salads are sounding good for dinner. I made this one, making a number of substitutions based on preferences and what I had on hand. I made this using leaf lettuce, feta cheese and sautéed pecans, not candied. I also threw in some blueberries in addition to the strawberries. I skipped the olive oil altogether and used Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette by MATTSBELLY, also on this site. Hubs grilled the chicken, basting it the last few minutes with some of the balsamic dressing. After grilling I let the chicken rest for about 5 minutes, sliced and placed atop the salad. This was very good and the balsamic dressing paired very well with the chicken and fruit. I’d certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe! It was perfect for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used a little Mediterranean seasoning on the chicken and raspberry vinaigrette instead of balsamic and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States