Spring Strawberry Salad with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wonderful. I paired it with the Candied Pecans recipe posted by "Alix" http://allrecipes.com/recipe/candied-pecans/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a hit at our gathering. I will definitely fix this again. I used "Red Raspberry Vinaigrette" from this site and it went perfectly with this salad. We never had goat cheese before and found we like it a lot more than feta cheese and it goes well with all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
We love this recipe as it stands, but it is the type of salad that can handle a tweak or change here and there if you do not like some ingredients or simply cannot get them. Now and then we substitute gouda for the goat cheese, add some toasted pepitos just for fun and use our own balsamic dressing. The bottom line is my family loves it and we've found the Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II is a perfect complement to this recipe. Add a little fresh bread on the side and you've got a meal that is filling without being heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made for supper tonight. I used 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette to cook the 3 chicken breasts,. The salad had a nice flavor. I used feta cheese for my salad and cheddar cheese for my husband's. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I just made this today and realized I could have used the leftover juices from the balsamic chicken as a dressing. If the salad required more taste, I could've just added more vinaigrette. Otherwise fantastic, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
It’s been pretty hot here, so salads are sounding good for dinner. I made this one, making a number of substitutions based on preferences and what I had on hand. I made this using leaf lettuce, feta cheese and sautéed pecans, not candied. I also threw in some blueberries in addition to the strawberries. I skipped the olive oil altogether and used Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette by MATTSBELLY, also on this site. Hubs grilled the chicken, basting it the last few minutes with some of the balsamic dressing. After grilling I let the chicken rest for about 5 minutes, sliced and placed atop the salad. This was very good and the balsamic dressing paired very well with the chicken and fruit. I’d certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
O.M.G. amazing. I skipped the candied pecans in favor of plain old walnut pieces, and it was STILL awesome. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Admittedly, I did change a few things based on what I had on hand. I omitted the goat cheese (mine had gotten moldy and weird) and used left over chicken pieces from a rotisserie chicken I'd picked up from the grocery store. I served it with with toasted, buttered baguette slices. As my boyfriend put it, "Dinner was weird but good." I think it would be a lot better if I'd made the chicken as the recipe stated instead of using leftover chicken. Still, it was a satisfying and healthy dinner that didn't heat the kitchen up in the summer time. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing salad! I add dried cranberries. Its very much like a salad served at The Keg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I’ve made this recipe a few times and although I didn't follow this recipe to the "T" I did really enjoy the mix of flavors and texture. Instead of using the balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing I used Brianna’s Home Style Blush Wine Vinaigrette Dressing (it’s what I had at the time). It was more of a thin dressing that added a mild flavor. I also used a spring mix instead of just plain spinach and blue cheese as opposed to the suggested goat cheese. I couldn’t find any candied pecans so I just lightly toasted them with a sprinkle of brown sugar and it was amazing. One thing that I do suggest is to let the chicken chill so that the greens don’t get soggy. I also added some craisins to the salad for a little more taste and texture. Overall, this salad was surprisingly delicious and I would make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States