Spring Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was an awesome salad! But be careful not to mix the dressing with the rest of the ingredients more than a few hours before serving as the broccoli will wilt and shrink a bit, leaving it a little watery in the bottom of the serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Very yummy! I used red onion instead of green onion, craisins instead of raisins, and I sugar coated the almonds and added them right before serving. (Heat them in a pan over med-low to med heat with 1-2 Tbsp white sugar until the sugar melts. Cool and break apart.) I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
I love this recipe. It's quick, easy and delicious. I've made it for my child's teachers, family reunions and other celebrations. It has been a hit with all(especially the teachers). It is a very unusual combination of flavors but, when infused, it's like eating fireworks. All my tastebuds are going wild with the freshness and variety of this refreshing salad. Thank you, Kathleen, for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This is the best salad I have had in a long time- I made it twice in one weekend! The flavors are diverse and yet they really work well together. I used a pound of bacon, green and red onions (a little more than half of a cup), and a mixture of raisins and cherry flavored craisins (again a little more than half of a cup, any combination of raisins and craisins would taste great). I omitted the celery and blanched the broccoli (placed the florets in boiling water for 30 seconds and then really cold water for a few minutes), which made it a brighter green color and gave it a better taste and consistency. It does get a little watery after awhile but it doesn't affect the taste. I recommend letting the flavors sit together for awhile for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I made this salad the day my fiance was returning from a trip. After I finished making it, I had to leave my home for a few hours only to return and find my fiance finishing the entire 8 serving salad. He has been after me ever since to make it. Maybe this time he will let me have a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Good salad. I don't care for the taste of raw broccoli, so next time I make this I will steam the broccoli just slightly. Otherwise, good flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Wow - excellent salad! I omitted the bacon and used onions (not green onions) and added sliced apples. Thank you for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
AWESOME!! My guest took the copy I made to make the dish! Really a winner, easy to make and delicious. Will make for every cookout! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had such high hopes - it was the dressing that was such a let-down. The mayo-sugar-vinegar combination makes something really special taste like any plain old broccoli salad. I subbed craisins for raisins and left out the bacon. I should have gone with my gut and not doused the whole thing in mayo. A different dressing is very much in order....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was fabulous. We loved the presentation, taste, EVERYTHING! I used bagged broccoli as well as real bacon bits as a timesaver. Also upped the grapes because I had a bunch of leftovers from a party that needed to be used. Very good and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States