Spring Salad with Fennel and Orange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this salad especially for my husband - I am not a huge fan of fennel or raw onion, but he is. He is rating it 5 stars - yes, he understands the system. :) In my hurry to get through the grocery store, I accidentally grabbed dried cherries instead of cranberries - so I used them and they worked fine with this (although quite a bit more expensive I noticed later, so feel free to stick with cranberries). Thanks for the recipe - he would like to have it again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Awesome! I have never used raw fennel and I am not a licorice fan. The flavors blend nicely together and the fennel and red onion blend very nicely, not strong like I thought they would be. The orange I cut the peel off and sliced crosswise then halved. Great flavor addition to the salad. Dressing was very nice, used dried basil about a tsp. MIL raved over the dressing and hubby didn't even mind fruit in his salad. Light refreshing salad. Thanks Chef4Six, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I love this salad. Recently I have been adding some freshly minced garlic to the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
OMG, this was sooooo good! I would eat this every day. Even all 3 of my kids liked this :) Only difference was I used sugar substitute to healthify more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
What a great flavor fennel has! This is a great combination of flavors for something different and refreshing. Sweet, citrus, licorice-hint taste- not overwhelming, just right. Quick recipe. Oh--I did use green onion instead of red onion (out). Milder perhaps than red onion...I think the vinegar would tone down the red onions strong flavor...and blend in very well too. Thank you for this colorful and creative recipe. For a meal...add grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great salad-beautiful combination of colors and flavors. I was too lazy to peel and section an orange, so I used a can of mandarin oranges instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was ok but not my favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
very tasty and fresh! I made the recipe as directed, except I didn't have mixed salad greens so I used romaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was great! I added a splash of fresh orange juice to the dressing - YUM. The 14 year old grandson screeched at the fennel till I assured him it wasn't an onion and then ate three helpings oblivious to the red onion that was in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States