Spring Roll Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Spring rolls are traditionally made from rice wrappers, not wheat. These are more like wonton wrappers that you would use for eggrolls or crab rangoons, which are traditionally made from wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I hate to say it, but these were terrible. When they were done they tasted like a deep fried pancake. Not very crunchy on the inside (and we rolled them thin!) Very bland, soggy, not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great taste, super easy with a pasta machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wonderful for making egg rolls. Although I add a touch more water because the dough dries out quickly and is absoulty a pain to roll out. Takes a little practice to get the rolling down but now i triple the recipe and make hugh batches of egg rolls to freeze. People who say they taste bland are missing the salt that exists in store bought kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Although I think I need more practice at rolling and assembling, this recipe gave me a good head start. I definately reccommend doubling this recipe if you truly want 12 "normal sized" spring rolls from it. Otherwise, they are mini-spring rolls and you will have half the filling left-over as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These are exactly what I've been looking for. They are similar to the store-bought kinds. I deep-fried my eggrolls and they turned out crisp and yummy. I will no longer waste my money on store-bought now that I've found these. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
These worked great, but I don't think I got them quite thin enough. The rolling out part is the only hard part about this recipe. Otherwise, easy as pie...or easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I didn't tried this recipe but offcourse I have tried spring roll wrappers without eggs while making chicken spring rolls. added just water, refined flour & salt. They taste similar to those we have in restraurants and malls but weren't crispy. i think use of egg makes them cryspy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepak
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
They are perfect!!!!!!! I did added extra wather as recomended by previous reviews. I fryed half and baked the other, they were excelent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
i needed to add more water and i had an incredibly hard time rolling the thin sheets out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnazaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States