Spring Roll Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Spring rolls are traditionally made from rice wrappers, not wheat. These are more like wonton wrappers that you would use for eggrolls or crab rangoons, which are traditionally made from wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I hate to say it, but these were terrible. When they were done they tasted like a deep fried pancake. Not very crunchy on the inside (and we rolled them thin!) Very bland, soggy, not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great taste, super easy with a pasta machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wonderful for making egg rolls. Although I add a touch more water because the dough dries out quickly and is absoulty a pain to roll out. Takes a little practice to get the rolling down but now i triple the recipe and make hugh batches of egg rolls to freeze. People who say they taste bland are missing the salt that exists in store bought kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Although I think I need more practice at rolling and assembling, this recipe gave me a good head start. I definately reccommend doubling this recipe if you truly want 12 "normal sized" spring rolls from it. Otherwise, they are mini-spring rolls and you will have half the filling left-over as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These are exactly what I've been looking for. They are similar to the store-bought kinds. I deep-fried my eggrolls and they turned out crisp and yummy. I will no longer waste my money on store-bought now that I've found these. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
These worked great, but I don't think I got them quite thin enough. The rolling out part is the only hard part about this recipe. Otherwise, easy as pie...or easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
They are perfect!!!!!!! I did added extra wather as recomended by previous reviews. I fryed half and baked the other, they were excelent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I didn't tried this recipe but offcourse I have tried spring roll wrappers without eggs while making chicken spring rolls. added just water, refined flour & salt. They taste similar to those we have in restraurants and malls but weren't crispy. i think use of egg makes them cryspy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepak
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Hooray! Finally a wrapper that works! I made a gluten free version using gf flour so mine required a bit more water but they held up and baked well. They taste like fresh pasta. I tried to get them as thin as possible but without gluten you must be cautious so mine were thicker than written therefore my dough yielded 8 wrappers. I baked mine, not fried them. They don't overpower the flavour of the filling but really are just a delicate tasting vehicle for getting the other stuff in your mouth! Thank you Patty5 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States