Spring Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Great recipe! Next time, I will leave off the lemon zest & juice - it seemed to overpower the herbs. I also thought it clashed with steak, which is what I served it with. I'll make chicken or pork with it next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This recipe turned out very nicely. I was inspired to try my first risotto because the recipe looked easier than the others I've found. I've had the arborio rice for months! Flavor was good, texture wonderful. Vegetable and herb prep took substantially longer than the 30 minutes indicated. Fresh herbs make a big difference! For my taste, next time I will make these changes: less lemon juice and zest, slightly less fennel, double the parmessan cheese. All in all a very pleasant experience. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This is not the fastest of all side dishes, but the medley of flavors is wonderful in this recipe. As all other risotto recipes I've tried, it takes a lot of attention and preparation. However, if you pre-chop everything and have it all ready to go, assembly is not difficult. I used orange pepper instead of red and vegatable boullion in cubes mixed with water, and it turned out nicely. A nice, springy dish... I fixed it with Robust Baked Garlic Chicken and it went together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was not our favorite. I think because of too much lemon taste and I didn't care for the mint. I will try it again leaning more toward our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a very good recipe. The lemon zest had been forgotten...and I think it would have been even better with that added. My only problem with this recipe is that the supposed 25 minutes of cooking turned into about an hour (maybe even longer). However, It was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5 stars for the taste, but 3 for the time that it takes. Ended up taking me almost 2 hours, and while the end result was wonderful, I can't justify babysitting a pan for 2 hours for fancy rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I have made a lot of risottos before. I had intended on making a different one tonight but was missing an ingredient so I was glad when I found this one because I had almost everything on hand. I used red and yellow peppers just to give it more color. One thing I noticed is that the recipe doesn't tell you to heat the broth before adding it, although every other risotto recipe I've used calls for this step. Also, Arborio rice is better but it's expensive and sometimes hard to find. I find you can get away with using any kind of white rice. I even used Basmati rice tonight because that's all I had and it turns out just as good! I served it with lemon baked salmon and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canakat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was my first attempt at risotto. It was also my first encounter with fennel. It is very good, but pretty rich. it's hard to eat a lot of it at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Be careful with the zest, the risotto can easily become too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is sooooo tasty. Loving it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States