Spring Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5 stars for the taste, but 3 for the time that it takes. Ended up taking me almost 2 hours, and while the end result was wonderful, I can't justify babysitting a pan for 2 hours for fancy rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I have made a lot of risottos before. I had intended on making a different one tonight but was missing an ingredient so I was glad when I found this one because I had almost everything on hand. I used red and yellow peppers just to give it more color. One thing I noticed is that the recipe doesn't tell you to heat the broth before adding it, although every other risotto recipe I've used calls for this step. Also, Arborio rice is better but it's expensive and sometimes hard to find. I find you can get away with using any kind of white rice. I even used Basmati rice tonight because that's all I had and it turns out just as good! I served it with lemon baked salmon and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canakat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Be careful with the zest, the risotto can easily become too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is sooooo tasty. Loving it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a very good recipe. The lemon zest had been forgotten...and I think it would have been even better with that added. My only problem with this recipe is that the supposed 25 minutes of cooking turned into about an hour (maybe even longer). However, It was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was my first attempt at risotto. It was also my first encounter with fennel. It is very good, but pretty rich. it's hard to eat a lot of it at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Sorry, I found this to be surprisingly bland. Lots of wonderful ingredients and I even used homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was not our favorite. I think because of too much lemon taste and I didn't care for the mint. I will try it again leaning more toward our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This recipe turned out very nicely. I was inspired to try my first risotto because the recipe looked easier than the others I've found. I've had the arborio rice for months! Flavor was good, texture wonderful. Vegetable and herb prep took substantially longer than the 30 minutes indicated. Fresh herbs make a big difference! For my taste, next time I will make these changes: less lemon juice and zest, slightly less fennel, double the parmessan cheese. All in all a very pleasant experience. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Great recipe! Next time, I will leave off the lemon zest & juice - it seemed to overpower the herbs. I also thought it clashed with steak, which is what I served it with. I'll make chicken or pork with it next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States