Spring Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I used two egg whites and one whole egg and 1% milk. I topped this omelette with a few halved cherry tomatoes, a tiny amount of extra sharp cheddar cheese and homemade salsa. This was a nice filling breakfast. I've always loved the combination of asparagus and eggs. Next time, I think I might add a clove of fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great omelet! The milk is optional so I just added a little bit, about a Tbsp. I also added a bit of garlic, salt, pepper and some tomatoes for a little extra color and flavor. I used light Parmesan cheese which was a nice departure from the regular American or Cheddar cheeses. This was a really nice breakfast with whole grain toast and juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Very tasty recipe. A 1/4 cup of milk for 2 eggs is a little much though, it made the omlette very soft and a bit difficult to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I sauteed the veggies seperately and then added to the eggs once they were set but this was only for presentation and not taste. I also left out the milk (didn't have any) and it turned out just fine! I like mine cheesy and added some cheddar on top as well. Super simple and good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellent! Had to use sweet onion and added sweet red pepper, Family was moaning and groaning wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Fantastic idea for omelet. I always use 3/4 cup of egg whites and 1 large egg whisked together. I left out the milk and Parmesan cheese. I used baby bella mushrooms and it had excellent flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I only added ~1T of milk. Subbed tomatoes for mushrooms, regular yellow onion for green onion, used parmesan and sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I did not have asparagus on hand but I had a lot of fresh button mushrooms (sliced), green onions, chopped, fresh basil, and fresh roasted roma tomtatoes. I sauteed the veggies in a little olive oil first to cook the mushrooms down and also warm up the rest of the vegetables. To the egg mixture ( added salt and black pepper) I added just a little skim milk. I think 1/4 cup of milk to 2 eggs is a lot. I also used 4 eggs as I was feeding two hungry people. Once I added the eggs to the skillet I added the vegetables to the center. I lifted up the edges of the omelet and tilted the pan a little to let some of the uncooked egg flow underneath the omelet. Once the omelet set, I added parmesan cheese, flipped the omelet over in half and added more cheese. I topped it off with a fresh piece of basil. This is a nice breakfast and perfect way to start off my morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Made frittata style...used a carton of eggbeaters just eggwhites...red onion instead of green, fresh asparagus, red tomatoes, and yellow cherry tomatoes, also added some fresh chopped basil, pecorino romano, and 2% shredded mozzarella. Very nice and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe was supposed to be for a 4H Foods meeting, but we ran out of time and didn't get to make it, so I made it with my own teenage daughters. Was very good, but definitely need to saute' the asparagus longer. We also added orange pepper to the sauteed veggies to add a little more color. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States