Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand the first time I made these biscotti, and now that I've made about 30 batches for everyone I know this way, I don't think I'll ever use the original recipe. I substituted 1/4 tsp lemon extract for the orange zest, added more white chocolate chips, and about 1/2 a cup toasted almonds instead of pistachios. I top the biscotti logs before I bake them with egg white or milk, and sprinkle with granulated sugar and chopped almonds. They look and taste better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
These were wonderful. Only criticism I have was that the two three-inch logs make a small number of somewhat clunky biscotti. Next time I'll bake them in three two-inch logs instead, to yield a larger number of smaller cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I apologize for my skepticism, these are amazing! My Italian grandma was the all-time world champion biscotti maker. But these are the best modern twist on Grandma's biscotti that I can imagine! They are VERY easy to make (used Kitchen Aid mixer), wonderfully flavored, excellent texture, smell divine! Used 1/2 tsp orange extract in place of the zest; had only 1/2 C pistachios, so I added slivered almonds too. These will be a PERMANENT addition to my files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Excellent biscotti! I have never made biscotti before but was pleasantly surprised to find out how easy the recipe was. Not only are these better than store-bought ones (which always tend to be a little harder than I like), they're also a lot cheaper too! This is an absolutely delightful snack that I will keep as a staple in my kitchen. The only difficulty I encounter was cutting the log since the center part tend to crumble & break (even with a very sharp knife); I also went ahead & spread some melted chocolate on the flat side of the biscotti to give it more of a flavor. These are definitely keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is an oustanding recipe - directions are very clear and precise, and the result is a crunchy, flavorful cookie that goes well with coffee as well as hot tea (am thinking of having it with some peach herbal tea). Some notes: Unlike other biscotti recipes I've made, this dough did not have a tendency to crack in the oven or crumble when slicing (I always use a serrated knife) - a big reason why this will become a staple baked good for our house. Substitutions: splenda for white sugar, and used orange-essence cranberries to pick up the flavor of the zest. Also, suggested baking time was a bit long for my oven - did 27 minutes for first bake, and only 10 for second. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I just can't believe how good these biscotti turned out. The orange zest added SO MUCH to them, I can't imagine making them without it. I made one batch as-is: FANTASTIC. I made another batch using toasted coconut, white chocolate, and slivered almonds as the "fillings," and they, too, were out of this world. I think that the base of this biscotti recipe is a great base for a multitude of variations, and I can't wait to experiment more. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Love this combination. Added drizzled white chocolate for gift biscotti. Found that an electric knife cuts the half-baked biscotti like butter, eliminating all crumbling. Baked mine a bit longer as I like "dunkers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made both the Spring Biscotti and the Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti from this site. I was worried about using olive oil instead of butter. To make a direct comparison I used the same amount of craisins (3/4 cup) and pistachios (3/4 cup) in each recipe. I also eliminated any flavorings other than almond and vanilla (ie: omitted orange flavoring). Honestly there was little difference between the oil and the butter. The Spring Biscotti with the butter was a little crunchier and a little easier to work with/cut. The Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti with the oil stuck to the parchment paper a little and was a little more delicate to cut without crumbling. However, the end result was a little softer than the spring biscotti. Either recipe is 5 star. I can't decide which one I will make again as they were so similar but I don't think I can go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...yummy. These biscotti are absolutely fantabulous! I used almond extract instead of the vanilla and didn't put any nuts but they were still divine! And so easy to make! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was a terrific recipe! I shared these with friends and they all raved about how delicious they were and the fact that they were crispy, but a little softer inside (unlike typical biscotti). The orange zest adds a wonderful, fresh flavor which goes so well with the crunchy nuts and chewy/tangy craisins. I couldn't find shelled pistachios, so I rough chopped 1 c of whole almonds instead. I think I actually prefer the almonds to pistachios anyways. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States