Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This turned out absolutely perfect. I omitted the white chocolate since I don't prefer it, substituted sliced almonds for the pistachios, and dipped the flat sides in semi-sweet chocolate. They were very well received by my husband and co-workers. Excellent recipe. This was also my first time making biscotti, and it was much easier than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Delicious!! This was my first time making biscotti and found the recipe very easy to follow. I stuck to the recipe other than substituting chopped almonds for the pistachios...I can't wait to serve them at my event this weekend!!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My biscotti turned out great -- I am eating some now as I type. Thanks very much for this one! I did not add the egg white, and also used dark chocolate instead of white chocolate. I added some nutmeg to the dough, and left out the pistachios because I'm terrible at following recipes exactly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe did not impress me. I have made better cranberry orange biscotti. It tastes a little bit like custard to me and I'm not a fan of custard. Just a word of caution: I made a double batch and switched top shelf and bottom shelf in the middle of baking the first round. My cookie sheet did not have edges and one of my loaves spilled off onto the oven door and floor. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good. I used almonds instead of pistachios and I didn't put the white chocolate on (I'm not a fan of white chocolate). Great biscotti, this was my first time making it and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I followed almost exactly, just substituting dried cherries and almonds for the fruit and nut called for in the recipe. I baked for about 27 minutes the first time, then about 8 the second time...so they were ever-so-slightly softer (less dry) than your typical biscotti. I melted some white chocolate and some almond bark and dipped one side of them, yum! I found the size to be just fine as specified, if you cut at an angle. I also did closer to 1/2-3/4" thick, instead of 1" (personal preference). Easy recipe--first time making biscotti and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was my first time making biscotti. I've always been intimidated by them, but this recipe is amazing - and they're really not that hard to make. I used: pecans, dried sweetened cranberries and white and chocolate chips along with the orange zest in the cookies, and drizzled them with chocolate when they were done. They came out amazing, so much so that everyone who tried them thought they were bought and not homemade! I'll use this recipe as a base for all my biscotti from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
my entire family and anyone else that tries this recipe cannot believe i made them- thats how great this is! i've made them at least half a dozen times, experimenting with different ingrediants. Different nuts, berries, flavors. Everytime they come out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made both the Spring Biscotti and the Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti from this site. I was worried about using olive oil instead of butter. To make a direct comparison I used the same amount of craisins (3/4 cup) and pistachios (3/4 cup) in each recipe. I also eliminated any flavorings other than almond and vanilla (ie: omitted orange flavoring). Honestly there was little difference between the oil and the butter. The Spring Biscotti with the butter was a little crunchier and a little easier to work with/cut. The Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti with the oil stuck to the parchment paper a little and was a little more delicate to cut without crumbling. However, the end result was a little softer than the spring biscotti. Either recipe is 5 star. I can't decide which one I will make again as they were so similar but I don't think I can go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
While this is a pretty simple recipe and it turned out great, I really did not like the taste. I typically like orange and cranberries together but for some reason it just didn't work for me in this recipe. I may try it again without the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States