Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! My first attempt at making biscotti. They came out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly except for the nuts. I used almonds instead of pistaschios. (Couldn't find shelled pistaschios). You can't go wrong with this one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are AMAZING! Decided to try these to give as gifts for the holidays. Didn't use cranberries or pistachios, but instead used chopped almonds and coconut. I also used extra orange zest and the juice of one orange. As almost everyone receiving them is a tea drinker, these will be PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow. So good. I'm a much better cook than baker, and these still turned out fabulous - I felt very old-school grandma making these. I kept the recipe the same except I used fresh, chopped cranberries, dark chocolate, and walnuts (that's all I had around so I had to improvise). It was a yummy combo. Next time I might spread some melted chocolate on the bottom of the cookies to harden, or drizzle it on top. Amazing dunked in coffee. This is such a great base recipe, just like others said, and really easy to modify to your tastes. I'm definitely making a few batches to spread the love this Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryanneA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by jfeerst
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Loved this recipe! I swapped sliced almonds for the pistachios due to price and texture preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This biscotti is fantastic! So easy to make and really comes out delicious. My husband is not much of a sweets guy but he LOVES these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARTheys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Fabulous as is. I questioned the amount of pistachios, but I used a full 1 1/4 cups, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Really good I used as written for one batch and made the base recipe with substitutions cherry and almond for the second batch. Will definitely use the base for all my biscotti creations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
DO NOT USE MARGARINE!!! I tried using margarine and splenda for the first batch and it curdled right away. The end reselt wasn't too terrible but it cracked and didn't hold together well. I made another batch with butter and sugar and I immediately saw a difference. It was smooth and wonderful! By the way, I used fresh orange zest, lemon extract, and vanilla. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Recipe is fantastic as-is and is easily adaptable. Super easy biscotti and everyone who I've given it to love it. Thanks for a great recipe. This is my go-to for biscotti from now on, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was my first batch of homemade biscotti and this recipe hit it out of the park! It's taking all my will-power not to scarf down the entire batch. A few notes: I used slivered almonds instead of pistachios (already had them and they are cheaper) and I doubled the amount of orange zest. Also, despite putting the dough in the fridge for over an hour it was still really sticky in the center and underside. Next time I won't even waste my time with this step and will just form the logs directly on the lined cookie sheet. All in all, superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States