Spoon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I hate to be the first reviewer of a recipe and say negative things about it, but we did not like these at all. I was really looking forward to them. After the time it took for them to be ready it was a severe disappointment not to like them in any way. The texture is not at all like a yeast bread, it is very soft like a muffin or cake (but unfortunately without the flavor). Add to the texture issue the upleasantly strong taste of baking powder and it is an all around loss. Mine looked just like the photo, so I don't think I did anything wrong. That's just how they are and I didn't like it. I tossed the baked rolls along with the remaining batter in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I hav used it numerous times with rave reviews from family and guests. These are quick and easy to make. They are not like the yeast rolls that you have to knead and let rise several times - but they are an excellent bread to serve with any meal. They remind me of a mix between bread and biscuits. You can also substitute butter milk for 1 to 1 3/4 cup of the water. I wonder if you can add other seasonings like Italian herbs, garlic, cheese, etc. and bake them...I may try that - if anyone else tries that let me know how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My family loved these rolls. They are perfect with any soups. We like to eat them plain even. You gotta try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These are excellent. Very easy - I have made them twice - both times the family loved them. Very good w/ honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have been making these for about 10 years. They are great. I often use this substitution for the self-rising flour: 4 cups all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons salt and 2 Tablespoons baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Fast, easy, and tasty hot rolls. I only refrigerated a couple of hours before baking a small batch and they came out great. I refrigerated the extra batter for 2 days before baking another batch and there was no difference in the quality between the 2 batches. So you do not HAVE to wait overnight if you are pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamratoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
BEWARE! DOUGH EXPANDS DURING THE NIGHT!!! I had put my dough in a pyrex round bowl with lid. Next morning I found the lid propped open and a whole slab of dough on the shelf and more oozing out... Good though. VERY BUTTERY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These were absolutely yummy!! I only had 5 hours for my fridge time, but pushed ahead with great results. I was trying to duplicate something I saw on Hell's Kitchen and was similar to some buns we had in a restaurant once. These were restaurant worthy for sure! I baked mine in a mini muffin tin, brushed with egg and sprinkled with sesame seeds. I baked for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These are easy to make and tasty. Prompted by a previous reviewer I want to add to the cooking suggestions. I have added 2 more tablespoons of flour and made this in a well greased 9x13 for some knock your socks off hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These are lovely. They are a sweet bread with a cake like texture. I let the batter rest on the counter until doubled in size - about 2 hours - and then I scooped the batter in tablespoons into my babycakes maker. Easy as pie, and just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States