Spool Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
They were fun to decorate, but not to eat. Texture is like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this, they weren't the worst sugar cookies ever, but they sort of tasted like play-do even after i changed the recipe from one cup of sugar to two cups of sugar. i would only recommend these if you are going to use a very sweet topping on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
A little oily, but the cookies turned out good. I will probably use about half the oil next time, but they were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMTCHICKY
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I was hired to make sugar cookies for a local company's party, I used real butter instead of margarine, they were a HUGE HIT! I made them since then and forgot to leave out the salt when I used salted butter, they were still tasty, and SO easy! For Easter I rolled them in pastel colored sugars, WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
EXCELLENT! This recipe has been passed down in our family for over 70 years (butter in place of margerine). Shame on reviewers who changed it, then rated it low. If you don't follow the recipe, submit your own. Not chilling makes it more difficult to work with, but results are the same. My Grandmother added a dried cherry or nut meat to the center to dress it up. She'd have LOVED the spool idea, and I'm going to try that. Cute. Flavor is FANTASTIC with no dress up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've made these cookies many times and I'm famous for them! They are really the most delicious cookies I have ever made and my friends are begging for my secret recipe! The only change I make is to only dip the balls of dough into the sugar instead of rolling them. Otherwise, they are actually too sugary, if that is even possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaCooksForMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
following the advice of the comments, i reduced the butter and oil to 1/2c. each i found the cookie to be unreasonably crummy and dry so i added the rest of the butter and oil. still pretty dry so i added just a splash of oil more. i found it really didn't need to be refrigerated but did so for a hour or two anyway. i made them standard cookie size because my family likes medium to large cookies better but then i had to tag on another 2-4 min. and the design did not show up as well on the larger cookies. i think next time i will follow the instructions exactly and maybe add more oil or butter so i wont get as dry a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Taste is great. But had some trouble with the spool impression as sometimes it stuck inside. But great alternative to rolling out and cookie cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I have been making these cookies for over 35 years they are Delicious they are NOT greasy I do use real butter not margerine and 41/2 cups flour 2 teaspoons vanilla sometimes 1 t vanilla and 1 t almond extract bake just until edges begin to brown they are pure heaven they do not have POOLS of oil as one person stated and Ihave never met anyone who dod not truly enjoy them If you are going to go thru the trouble of making real sugar cookies then go all the way or stick to some crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Overall great taste but they are very greasy so I recommend less oil. Also, they didn't rise much in the oven so they were very thin. But still, the taste is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States