Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are so great! I just use red food colouring on the base so it looks like blood and I serve them on white napkins that have been splashed with red food colouring... gory and absolutely perfect. My son mentioned that all I had was white fingers so I added cocoa powder to a batch and had lovely fingers of colour. And they are just so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These cookies were a hit at my son's Halloween-themed birthday party. I substituted cinnamon for the almond extract and they turned out great! I used some red food colouring to make the fingers look bloodier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
What a fun recipe to make! My daughter and I had so much fun making these. I read some reviews about saltiness, so I used unsalted butter and used only 1/2 tsp of salt. My daughter did not like them (they are probably not sweet enough for most kids) but I loved them. They are amazing with a cup of tea. I even used green food dye for some of the batter and they turned out great. Next time I would add the dye to the whole batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these last year for our local "Trunk or Treat" party at our neighborhood market/post office/gas station/cafe where we all back in around the perimeter of the parking lot & hand out safe treats to the kids from the trunks of our cars or pick-up beds. The adults bring cookies & other baked goodies while our hostess provides hot cider & cocoa mix packets, hot water & coffee. Added a little green food coloring to the dough just for fun(they turned out awesome looking). These cookies disappeared like magic & I kept hearing "Who made those finger cookies? The ones with the almonds...I want the recipe!" Truth be told I tasted one & had a really hard time staying out of them long enough to get them to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I make these cookies every Halloween and they are always a hit! Fun to make, cute, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bp102164
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These were fun to make! The store was out of red gel, so I used black. Came out just as creepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bp102164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
previously added a review. However, here is a warning. I put the dough I did not have time to cook in fridge and it got way too hard. Don't know what I was thinking-of course the butter hardened up. Also, got way fewer than 60 cookies. Can soften dough by leaving on counter for a few hours if you get it too hard. The green look really disgusting-perfect for halloween
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They were beautiful til I put them in the oven!! They spread out into each other!! So disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marieclaire0924
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were awesome, I accidentally made one batch a little too big so they looked more like ogre fingers but the second batch was the perfect size. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I started making these for Halloween, am on my thrid double batch, can't keep ahead, to put any in the freezer. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States