Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jessie D.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great recipe! My son and I had alot of fun making these yesterday for his cousins. Not only were these too cute, but hey also were very tasty. We added a few drops of green food color to make them look like real witch fingers. They were a big hit with the kids and adults and everyone loved them! I am going to continue to make these year after year with my children! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
they were so good and everyone loved they. Except for the ones that were creaped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUECIOETA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I used only half the amount of almond flavoring, and you still get a nice taste without too overwhelming almond-ness. I also used almond slivers instead of whole almonds, which look even more creepy because they are more nail-like. Also added some gel to the base of the fingers to make them look like they'd been cut off with some blood showing. Added a few warts, too. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Easy and fun recipe. The overall appearance is better than the flavor, which is a very traditional, not too sweet, but tangy sugar cookie. You can't use regular sugar cookie dough, because it will flatten - this one keeps it's shape which is why it's perfect for the fingers. I like the idea of making them green - will try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Dice
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Pretty gruesome for Halloween! I used slices of almonds for the nails with red gel icing under the almonds after baking. Make sure you roll them skinny or they will turn out too fat. They WILL spread while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a really fun recipe to make. My kids are grown and gone, but I had a blast making these by myself. My family and friends laughed so loud and they are a hit! The only thing I would change is to make them a little sweeter. They're a nice, light cookie with a good almond flavor. I substituted white flour with whole wheat and almond flour. Turned out great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlejessmo
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I liked these cookies, My first batch came out too fat, so make them skinny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made these for my daughters class. She has kids with nut allergies in her class so I made them "troll fingers" instead. I used neon green food coloring and junior mints for the nails. I baked them then added the nails along with some red gel blood. The kids loved them. Use the same amount of dough just make them short and stubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These are very good! I didn't have confectioners sugar, so I put regular granulated sugar in the coffee grinder. I think it worked! The texture was alot more softer like powderef sugar. Don't make these too thin. If you do, you cannot bake for 20-25 minutes. Believe me, my first batch went to the garbage! I made them a little thicker and baked for 20 minutes. It's best to just bake a few the first batch until you see what works best for you (thickness and how long to bake), so you don't waste too many cookies. These are so fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by GG
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I prepared this with my kids yesterday and they turned out great! We made them really thin and reduced cooking time to 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States