Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a really fun recipe to make. My kids are grown and gone, but I had a blast making these by myself. My family and friends laughed so loud and they are a hit! The only thing I would change is to make them a little sweeter. They're a nice, light cookie with a good almond flavor. I substituted white flour with whole wheat and almond flour. Turned out great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlejessmo
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I liked these cookies, My first batch came out too fat, so make them skinny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made these for my daughters class. She has kids with nut allergies in her class so I made them "troll fingers" instead. I used neon green food coloring and junior mints for the nails. I baked them then added the nails along with some red gel blood. The kids loved them. Use the same amount of dough just make them short and stubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These are very good! I didn't have confectioners sugar, so I put regular granulated sugar in the coffee grinder. I think it worked! The texture was alot more softer like powderef sugar. Don't make these too thin. If you do, you cannot bake for 20-25 minutes. Believe me, my first batch went to the garbage! I made them a little thicker and baked for 20 minutes. It's best to just bake a few the first batch until you see what works best for you (thickness and how long to bake), so you don't waste too many cookies. These are so fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by GG
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I prepared this with my kids yesterday and they turned out great! We made them really thin and reduced cooking time to 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Way too bland. Not enough sugar. Tastes like a shortbread. The appearance was cute but not really edible. Also, since the dough grows in the oven, a note should be made to make them thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are so great! I just use red food colouring on the base so it looks like blood and I serve them on white napkins that have been splashed with red food colouring... gory and absolutely perfect. My son mentioned that all I had was white fingers so I added cocoa powder to a batch and had lovely fingers of colour. And they are just so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These cookies were a hit at my son's Halloween-themed birthday party. I substituted cinnamon for the almond extract and they turned out great! I used some red food colouring to make the fingers look bloodier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
What a fun recipe to make! My daughter and I had so much fun making these. I read some reviews about saltiness, so I used unsalted butter and used only 1/2 tsp of salt. My daughter did not like them (they are probably not sweet enough for most kids) but I loved them. They are amazing with a cup of tea. I even used green food dye for some of the batter and they turned out great. Next time I would add the dye to the whole batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these last year for our local "Trunk or Treat" party at our neighborhood market/post office/gas station/cafe where we all back in around the perimeter of the parking lot & hand out safe treats to the kids from the trunks of our cars or pick-up beds. The adults bring cookies & other baked goodies while our hostess provides hot cider & cocoa mix packets, hot water & coffee. Added a little green food coloring to the dough just for fun(they turned out awesome looking). These cookies disappeared like magic & I kept hearing "Who made those finger cookies? The ones with the almonds...I want the recipe!" Truth be told I tasted one & had a really hard time staying out of them long enough to get them to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States