Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I make these this Halloween and they are really cute, I add green food coloring to my dough and red gel color under the nail and look a little gross.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by NOWARRIES
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These were great and the recommendation to add jam at one end and under the nail before baking were on point. They were a hit at both my children's Halloween parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These were fun to make & made great eating... My co-workers loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 51BRENDA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Made as recipe directed and added frosting colors green and black to make "monster fingers", I won the Halloween dessert contest at work !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
this was a huge success at Halloween party! Great recipe with easy, clear directions that made it simple. Tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made these for Halloween. They really looked like fingers, but the best part was the cookie itself tasted GREAT! They reminded me of Christmas cookies I loved when I was a kid. My son thought they looked gross, which is cool in his book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Took these to work, everyone thought they were awesome. A few were creeped out by them:) will be making next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for a party with some changes. I used coconut flavoring instead of rum and cherry pie filling in place of the red food gel. I used Splenda instead of white sugar and like most folks I added an extra 1/2 cup. I also dressed them up with green food color and alternated half with almond sliver finger nails painted with yellow food coloring and half with dried cranberry "scabs". Very creepy result! The reason I gave this recipe a 4 was that baking them was a chore. When the butter gets warm, the cookies spread/swell when you cook them. To keep them petite, you need to roll them very very thin, chilling them before baking, OR roll and bake in small batches, keeping the dough as cold as possible. I think all together I took more than 2 hours to roll, bake and decorate these cookies. Towards the end, I got tired and made some "bloody eye balls" by rolling the dough in to a ball, making a depression with my thumb and filling it with cherry pie filling. Tasty and creepy! Next year I may make more of those and less of the fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E C Kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Cookies turned out looking great. Were very easy (and fun) to make. My only complaint is that, after using salted butter plus the added salt in the recipe, the cookie itself was a bit salty. Next time I will make with unsalted butter, or omit the extra salt. But otherwise a fantastic idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
These are GREAT! Some said not sweet enough so I tasted before I baked to check sweetness. Super fun to do with family. We will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States