Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly! Even went and bought almond flavoring because i didnt have any. I dont know how mine turned out differently than the others reviewers but they were very bland tasting and very crumbly in my mouth. They were easy to make into the fingers and mine only made 46 so i had much larger fingers! Definitely not thin dainty lady fingers. Since i made these for a finer food event i didnt go with the red under the almonds. Would definitey be interested in hearing from other reviewers about what may have gone wrong with mine that th taste was so bland and they were so crumbly. They held their shape well and didnt fall apart when i took them off the cookie sheet but their texture when eaten just didnt suit me. They are definitey not sugar cookies! I tried strawberry jam, nutella, caramel and chocolate cake frosting as a dipping agent to improve the taste when i served them but that didnt really help the flavor. Taking them to the event later today so will report on how well or poorly they go over,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishal
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I was roaming around allrecipies and found this amazing recipie being a 14 year old chef I was very excited to make them and made them everybody in school loved them and my teachers asked for more the only mistake I made is that I added liquid butter instead of softened butter and the dough was very sticky and guey so I had to add more flour and on some fingers I added peanuts but the impression was not that much other then that a full five star dish :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
easy and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Excellent cookie recipe!! - don't change any part of recipe and follow exactly! - used cookie decorator gel for the blood and made the cookie the size of a pinkey finger maybe a little bigger. Will be making this cookie dough for christmas and use powdered sugar as the coating. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
They are so much fun to create. No matter what size they turn out to be, they are still ugly, but tasty. My grand daughter and I laughed the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer McIntyre
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
These cookies were always around at Halloween when I was a kid. Now I'm making them. With nut-free policies you can replace the almond with half a date, and just add extra vanilla to replace the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McIntyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
5 Stars for coolness, flavor and ease. It is somewhat time consuming, but totally worth it! I'm taking mine to a party tonight - happy to come with some "finger food" ~ Halloween is fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagaweaver74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I make these cookies except I use blanched almonds for the nails and then paint them with different colors of food coloring after baking. Family and friends love the cookies. This year going to bake with different colors of cookie dough and see how they turn out. Have fun with this recipe is is a show stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These are the best cookie ever. When folks say to roll the dough to a thin size that is the truth. After a few testers, I found that if you roll the dough to a pencil sized roll and cut in 3 inch lengths you get a nice finger sized cookie. If you are looking for a TROLL type cookie roll them a bit thicker. Thank you for all the great advice. Milli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe that came out awesome!!!!! I made a traditional icing (confectioner's sugar, vanilla syrup, butter, and some drops of water) and added green food coloring to make a SPOOKY frosting dip for the cookies! This was a huge hit at my kids Halloween party! Thank you for the recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States