Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was awesome!! Many complements at my halloweeen party. I rolled with my hands to the shape of my pinky and tinted green. Freaky looking. I also used raspberry jelly for my finger nails and cut off ends. More of a short bread cookie so don't be surprised when they don't taste like a sugar cookie. Liked the almond extract. They got eaten rather quickly at my party. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These were so cool! I didn't have almond extract so I subbed rum extract. They were very good and look SO GROSS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These turned out great and "spooky". I received many compliments on the taste and look of these cookies. I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Turned out great! Nice and light, and the red gel made some kids 'eww, gross! Can I have one please?' Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have made this for the past two years and now it's just a given. Changes: I used sliced almonds and put raspberry jam under the "nail" and at severed end - cooked with the jam on. It makes it look coagulated. Ewwww. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made these for my children to take to their class Halloween party. I used green food colouring and put a little raspberry jam under the almond before baking. I also pinched them to make two knuckles and used a paring knife to make slits for wrinkles on the knuckles. They were a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very, very bland.. way to difficult for the results..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I thought this was a very clever and cute idea! I added more almond extract than the recipe called for and would probably double it next time (but I like a more pronounced almond flavor). I also used sliced almonds instead of whole almonds for the "nail" and used raspberry jam instead of the red gel on the nail bed/cuticle. I also added some of the jam to the other end of the finger for a "severed" look! They looked gross but tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janey81
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
What a fun Halloween treat to make. It was a hit at the party! It ended up looking like fat witches fingers because it expanded when it baked. Next time I'll make sure to roll them a bit skinnier, but either way, everyone loved them! IMPORTANT NOTE: There is no need to remove the almonds, just line around the almond with the gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess*
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
GREAT COOKIE. EASY FUN AND SPOOKY!! BE CAREFUL MIXING THE DOUGH BECAUSE IF ITS MIXED TO MUCH IT DOESNT HARDEN AS GOOD AS IT SHOULD. BUT OTHERWISE ITS FUN GOT RAVE REVIEWS AND THEY LOOK EASY. FUN TO DO WITH KIDS TOO. AND CAN CHANGE UP THE LOOK BASED UPON YOUR PREFERENCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States