Spooky Homemade Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Can't wait to try these! I will write another review once i have finished
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzieQ
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The flavor was great. I gave it 5-stars because I'll be making these again. However, I interpreted the 3 (1 ounce) unflavored gelatin as 3 ounces. Since my packages were not 1 ounce, I weighed 3 ounces out. Yowza! After looking around the internet all other recipes said 3 packages, not 3 ounces. I had a huge mess. I finally got all the marshmallow out of my Kitchen Aid. I agree with another person that said that it really needs the power of a KA. I can clearly see that it will work out beautifully with the proper amount of gelatin. I wanted to make these because I needed marshmallow stars for a recipe I'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Try these and you'll never buy marshmallows in a bag at the grocery store again. For several years, I've made homemade marshmallows from a different recipe. I tried this one, it is the winner. These marshmallows are fluffy and delicious. The texture and flavor are heavenly. I followed the instructions exactly as written, and I could not be more pleased with the result. Here are a few tips I've learned over the years: after buttering your pan, sprinkle lightly with powdered sugar. I turn out the entire pan of dried, uncut marshmallows onto cutting board dusted with powdered sugar. Then, I use a large pizza cutting wheel to cut the marshmallows into squares. The blade will need to be dusted often with powdered sugar. I use powdered sugar sparingly if I'll be dipping the cut marshmallows into melted chocolate. I have also used finely chopped toasted coconut as a coating instead of powdered sugar for an old-fashioned treat. One last tip, I use the wire whip beater on the Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I think that contributes to the fluffy, light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Pretty easy. Taste good, not sure if worth the work vs. just buying--they are definately creamier, and better but not sure if worth the work. But then I dipped in chocolate--YUM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
While I give the texture and ease of making this recipe 5 stars, I did not like the flavor and neither did my marshmallow loving 3year old. I personally think the flavoring needs to be increased by another 2 tsps. I am going to try it again with the additional flavoring as suggested in another recipe and see how it turns out! They were much easier to work with than expected which was a plus! Made some really cute hearts I plan to see if they taste better dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phlee330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this and it came out so thick and sticky I had to run it under hot water for an hour to get it out. In all fairness I think I did something wrong. You have to be very exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
You would have thought I would be such a pro at making various recipes...but this recipe honestly had me by the goat for quite some time. I've always been tempted to make homemade marshmallows but feared with over boiling(even with a candy therometer). I have to say, it was a rather funny mess with this recipe, that made me realize...what was I thinking being frighten by this recipe. Now, that I've experienced it...I will soo be making this again. Light and fluffy and really easy to do, so long as you prep and stage your recipe in the steps for proper marshmallow making. And even though I was a mess, the recipe was quite tasty and just really fabulous. Experimenting of the extracts in the future for all sorts of holiday plans are in order. TY I no longer fear this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I don't care for marshmallows, so my review is based on my kids' reactions. In the morning, when I first told them I was making marshmallows that day, they didn't believe me. Then, when I presented them with the finished product floating in a cup of hot cocoa that evening, they said I was the awesome-est cook around. That compliment alone warrants giving this recipe five stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was intimidated by homemade marshmallows for years, not anymore. These are perfect and not overly sweet. I can't wait to make them in peppermint flavor to give out at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is Madeline approved. My picky 4 year old Granddaughter thought they were better then the ones in the bag. My husband says they make the best S'mores ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States